Marie's Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
BEWARE! This Mac and Cheese has a very *egg-y* taste. It calls for 4 eggs (we cut the recipe in half, therefore only using 2 eggs). The taste and texture reminds me more of an omlette, rather than a cheesy Mac and Cheese bake. Very fluffy and dry somehow. I prefer more of a cheesy or saucy mac and cheese... I must say it smelled amazing while baking though ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tylers Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Campbellville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This was really creamy and rich. It tasted a lot like the Kraft Deluxe fancy mac and cheese. I cut this in half and didn't have any eggs. I didn't bake this, we ate it as it and it was great. (DH wanted it like it was but next time I'll try to bake it because I like the crunchy part on top.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very good! I did make adjustments though. I made for serving of 4 (for a side dish, its more like 6). Used 1/2 lb macaroni, one can of soup, 1 cup milk, 1 egg, 1/2 cup cheese stirred into the mix and 1/2 cup for on top (I thought was plenty), 1/4 tsp cajun spice (will use more next time and maybe change to cayenne or just add 1/4 tsp of that in addition) and 1 tbsp dry mustard. This was so easy and creamy with the soup instead of a block with just shredded cheese. Cutting down the cheese to one cup total helps with sodium and calories, and I used 1% milk and no additional salt (made my own cajun spice mix without salt) Will make again with changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was awful! Not creamy enough. Tasteless. I followed the recipe to a tee! It also stuck to the pan even though I buttered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Great! After YEARS of making a traditional white sauce with cheese for mac and cheese, I am so happy to find a new recipe that my family, and more importantly ME (:) actually like and is easier. I halved the recipe, added some minced onion, and added a breadcrumb/butter mixture on top of the cheese. Also I cooked at 350 for 30 minutes like I do my traditional mac and cheese. Everything else was as instructed and it was excellent! Thanks for the new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I halved the recipe and baked covered for 20 minutes, added a little bit of crushed ritz crackers that had been mixed with a little bit of butter, and continued to bake for additional 15 minutes, uncovered. Was extremely easy to make, and pretty darn good. Will most definately be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Good, Creamy, GIGANTOR load of comfort food. Might be about the amount to take a carry-in... of football players.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was such a great dinner! My fiancée loved it, and so did our dinner guest! Next time for three people I'll cut the ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Brought to a potluck and it was the hit! Used colby-jack cheese. Followed recipe exactly, otherwise. I didn't even use salt or pepper during or after cooking. Pepper would add to it's deliciousness though. I'll definitely be making this again so my family can enjoy. For the topping, I sliced the cheese instead of using shredded. I halved this recipe and filled a 9x13 pan perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States