Marie's Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This was delicious but the 6 servings thing? NO WAY! Six sumo wrestlers, maybe..as a side dish, it made enough for many, many, MANY portions. There was no mention of an oven setting, only the timing for baking - I tried 350F and that seemed to work OK. Mixing everything in a big bowl worked better than trying to mix it in the baking dish, too. Overall a good dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This recipe has been revised to include a preheat step and oven temperature. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is always a favorite in our house, especially during the holidays or any family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I've made this twice, to take to family potlucks. EVERYONE loves it! It's always the first thing cleared. I make the recipe for 16 and serve approx. 35 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this recipe for a labor day bbq with family and friends. Everyone loved it! What was leftover was fought over as to who will take home the leftovers. I cut the recipe in half and had more than enough for 12 people. I'm making it again, this time adding peas and chunks of ham for a more complete one-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Good mac-n-cheese and this is coming from someone who's favorite food is mac-n-cheese! I used a different shaped pasta and Monterey Jack cheese in the dish and cheddar on top and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Brought to a potluck and it was the hit! Used colby-jack cheese. Followed recipe exactly, otherwise. I didn't even use salt or pepper during or after cooking. Pepper would add to it's deliciousness though. I'll definitely be making this again so my family can enjoy. For the topping, I sliced the cheese instead of using shredded. I halved this recipe and filled a 9x13 pan perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was my 1st ever homemade mac and cheese...AND I don't usually cook for anyone, other than my boyfriend and his 12 yr old daughter, I chose this recipe for a surprise, potluck, birthday party. It was a HIT! Everyone loved it. I will definitely cook this again, and maybe even for a work-potluck, where I normally just bring a veggie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by instantkarmacat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Great! After YEARS of making a traditional white sauce with cheese for mac and cheese, I am so happy to find a new recipe that my family, and more importantly ME (:) actually like and is easier. I halved the recipe, added some minced onion, and added a breadcrumb/butter mixture on top of the cheese. Also I cooked at 350 for 30 minutes like I do my traditional mac and cheese. Everything else was as instructed and it was excellent! Thanks for the new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I halved this recipe and used a casserole dish instead of a 9x13 pan. I added about 2 cups of cooked chicken and about 1 cup of pre-cooked peas and carrots. It was great! I'll definitely be making it again, either as a casserole or straight up mac & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States