Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is the 2nd time I am making this. The first time I used a rump roast because that's what I pulled out of my freezer. It was very good, but I'm anxious to see how the chuck roast tastes. I followed the basic recipe but added some of the suggested seasonings. This time I added fresh mushrooms instead of potatoes and will be serving over garlic mashed. This is an excellent and easy recipe. Thank you Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYVIV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Used 2 cups of water instead of 1. Added minced garlic, a couple more potatoes, and a whole bunch of baby carrots. Also added some garlic seasoning. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is perfect. The only small change I made was instead of a packet of plain onion soup, I used Lipton's beefy onion. Super perfect and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was the best roast I've ever made!! It was super moist and juicy. I used a mostly frozen chuck roast that'd been in the freezer for 1 year and 7 months (I'd even almost thrown it out because of the discoloration). I thawed it in the fridge over night, then put it in the slow cooker for about 5 hours on high, then low for an additional 3. It was succulent. Thank you for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This pot roast was delicious. We made it according to the recipe, and would only change 2 things: it needs more liquid - beef broth? - and it needs salt. Other than that, perfect! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I added half a container of mushrooms, extra carrots and red potatoes and to top it off a few tablespoons of worchestire sauce...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Sismondo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin Duran Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe was amazing and so very simple. I made a few adjustments to fit the ingredients I had on hand. I used beef broth instead of water, added carrots about 1/2 way through the 9 hrs the roast cooked. Right before serving I took about a cup of the juice from the crock pot and added 2 tablespoons of flour in a glass jar with a lid and shook the devil out of it. Then I added it back to the pot and it made the gravy a perfect consistency. I omitted the celery and was out of potatoes but I went and bought some during the day so I served the roast, carrots and gravy over mashed potatoes. Everything was a huge hit. My family loved it. I also served macaroni and cheese and green beans and my 7 & 5 year old boys told me it was "the best meal I ever made"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Tried it today with a few tweaks... Rubbed a 3.5 lbs roast with kosher salt, gd black pepper, dried thyme, rosemary and little bit of Lawry's season salt. Then, melted butter and added chopped fresh garlic in large frying pan until garlic was fragrant, and browned the roast on high heat for 4 min each side (just imagine the aroma... Yum!) Cut roast in half, transferred to heated crock pot, followed by larger chunks of chopped carrots, celery (no potatoes, served mashed potatoes on the side), and the packet of dried onion soup mix (which would experiment by leaving out next time). Then in the same pan for browning, added large chunks of chopped onion to sauté quickly, then deglazed with ~ 1/2C red wine, and poured it over the meat and veggies in the crock pot, added 1/2 C of water to pan (would use unsalted beef broth instead next time) to really get the last bits of the deglaze off the pan, and added to crock pot. With only less than 6 hours till dinner, put the crock pot on high heat for about 4 hours, stirred the pot and checked for doneness/tenderness with a knife, then changed to low heat for another 1.5-2 hours. Turned out pretty well given the reduction from 9 to 6 hrs of cooking in the crock pot. Will experiment with more tweaking on next try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This came out so good. I put this to cook for my first day back at work. I used chopped potatoes, whole baby carrots and onion. my crockpot is a small one so I used a 2lb roast so I tried just half the seasoning packet and 1/2 cup of water but at 6 hours it wasn't seasoned enough I added the rest and another half cup of water and put it on low for another hours. I served it over rice with a pasta salad! My husband loved it so I am putting this in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmfranco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States