Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I have made pot roasts this way for over 40 years. The dry onion soup mix and beef broth add great flavor, especially when the veggies absorb some of that flavor. I go lightly on the salt when browning, but use pepper and garlic powder liberally. As shown in the video, it adds a crust to the browned roast and that, in my opinion, makes the roast more tasty. Like many others, I also make gravy from the liquid. This is a no-fail recipe! The only thing I do that's different is to eliminate the celery, which tends to make the whole thing taste a bit like beef stew, which always has celery. For me, the time to make stew is with the leftovers, all of which goes into the pot, and that's when I add the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This is my go-to pot roast recipe. Always perfect. Only change I make is to add a little corn starch and water mixture at the end to thicken up the gravy - its delicious with noodles then. Also, instead of adding water, I vary and use either wine, beer, or beef broth like the video says. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Add one can of cream of mushroom soup (undiluted) This is a 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores Bray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
It sounds great but I haven't tried it yet, my big question is what size slow cooker should I use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Marie, my mom used to make this exact recipe but in a dutch oven on top of the stove, but used to make a gravy at the end with flour. It was always delicious and we ate every scrap. So, I know before making it that it is a 5 star recipe. Thank you for sharing something that has probably been passed down through your family for years. Bravo for a great recipe. I'm going to buy a chuck roast today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great recipe! Have used it for years. You might want to add a can of cream of mushroom soup. Delicious and makes a perfect gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Really tasty and tender. Will certainly make again. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
The first time I make a new recipe I make it as written, how else can you judge it. I very rarely see a review here where the person made something the way it is written, try making it the way it was written first. Then you can get creative. I haven't made this yet but I will this weekend. Looks yummy. I made the pot roast this weekend and found that I prefer my pressure cooker for beef. It didn't come out as tender as it does in the pressure cooker. Also it needs more spices. I'm always happy with the way my food comes out in the pressure cooker and rarely use the crock pot for this reason. Oh well. Sorry crock pot lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I tweaked this with 2 bay leaves and used College Inn beef broth in addition to the water. Next time I will use the beef broth instead of the water. This was finished cooking (a 2.53 lb. chuck roast) in about 5 hours on low in my crock pot. Next time definitely will use more carrots and celery. Also when I browned the meat, I liberally used salt and pepper and garlic powder. Really turned out well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Amazingly delicious and easy. I grew up liking roast, but not loving it(usually it tasted dry). No more, this roast I made just burst with flavor and quite mosit. My family loved it and it made me feel proud. No doubt I will be making this recipe many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States