Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
A very basic pot-roast recipe. Emphasis on simple, not five-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Marie THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your recipe and I must say the only word to describe it is; "FANTASTIC"! Made it last night and it was an absolute hit. Took the advise of other reviewers & used beef broth instead of water, Worcestershire sauce. Started with only by adding carrots, half way through the cooking time, added 3 whole onions and small white potatoes. This recipe is so versatile that any favorite spice can be added to your liking. Had the leftover meat this morning and it was yummy! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferryal Lackey
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is the first thing I cooked in my new crockpot.I made exactly it is written. The result was very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Ha! my name is Marie and this is the way I do roasts. only thing I have started doing different is I use V8 juice instead of water. I think it gives extra flavor and tenderizes. I usually cook a smaller roast as I am cooking for 2, therefore it doesn't take that long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I have made pot roasts this way for over 40 years. The dry onion soup mix and beef broth add great flavor, especially when the veggies absorb some of that flavor. I go lightly on the salt when browning, but use pepper and garlic powder liberally. As shown in the video, it adds a crust to the browned roast and that, in my opinion, makes the roast more tasty. Like many others, I also make gravy from the liquid. This is a no-fail recipe! The only thing I do that's different is to eliminate the celery, which tends to make the whole thing taste a bit like beef stew, which always has celery. For me, the time to make stew is with the leftovers, all of which goes into the pot, and that's when I add the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This is my go-to pot roast recipe. Always perfect. Only change I make is to add a little corn starch and water mixture at the end to thicken up the gravy - its delicious with noodles then. Also, instead of adding water, I vary and use either wine, beer, or beef broth like the video says. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Add one can of cream of mushroom soup (undiluted) This is a 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores Bray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
It sounds great but I haven't tried it yet, my big question is what size slow cooker should I use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Marie, my mom used to make this exact recipe but in a dutch oven on top of the stove, but used to make a gravy at the end with flour. It was always delicious and we ate every scrap. So, I know before making it that it is a 5 star recipe. Thank you for sharing something that has probably been passed down through your family for years. Bravo for a great recipe. I'm going to buy a chuck roast today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great recipe! Have used it for years. You might want to add a can of cream of mushroom soup. Delicious and makes a perfect gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States