Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I was torn between 3 and 4 stars. I thought this was o.k. Did make exactly as directed in crockpot. I thought it needed more flavor, but I think as versatile leftovers it is good. We are planning on making barbequed beef sandwiches with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermilion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a recipe just as advertised - quick and easy. Onion soup mix contains beef bullion, so those of you skipping the soup mix would end up with a bland roast. Mine turned out great with water. I used the water to bring up the bits in the pan I seared the meat in. Then poured it in with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
So yummy! The meat falls apart just like a perfec pot roast should. I followed other's advice and used Montreal Steak seasoning and am glad I did. I also subbed beef broth for the water. There is enough juice in the pot after cooking to make gravy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
So tender! This roast is delicious. After trying multiple pot roast recipes this will now be the ONLY recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I actually got applause from my family for cooking something they liked after they ate it - which NEVER happens! This was after my son broke out in tear's when he found out we were having potatoes that weren't mashed and he loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is an easy recipe and it yields a fantastic meal. I did make a few changes...first, I browned the chuck roast on both sides and then put it in the crock pot. Next I added 3 potatoes (peeled/cubed), 3 carrots (peeled/bite size pieces), 3 stalks of celery (bite size pieces), minced garlic and 1/2 onion (small chunks). Then, I mixed 1/2c white wine, 1c water, 1 pkg of onion soup mix, 1 pkg of McCormick's Slow Cooker Pot Roast seasoning and poured over the meat/vegs. Put on the lid and let it simmer for 10 hours. I did add more potatoes and carrots about 3 hrs into the cooking because there was more room in the crock pot. Truly delicious comfort food...tender meat and vegs with the most tasty gravy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I was great. It was very flavorful. I put carrots and cabbage in with the meat (that's how my mom always did it.) I was going to do potatoes too but already had some left over mashed ones. Took some of the "juice" and made gravy. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I tried it and it worked. The family really enjoyed this meal and I didn't have to work hard at it. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Instead of the onion soup mix, I added 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce to the broth and inserted 1 bay leaf into the roast, discarding the bay leaf before serving the roast. IMHO, the roast was even better- without those pesky onion bits from the soup mix in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poindexter3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The first time I made this I added a green pepper and everything else was as described (although I always brown using Montreal steak seasoning). It was very good. The second time I made it as described but it was bland. Just made it again, added 2 bay leaves, lots of garlic and a beef bouillon cube. Very good. I just have to remember to add the other ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States