Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was so easy and yummy! The only change I made was to use beef broth instead of water. I prepared everything the night before and my husband put it all the the slow cooker the next morning at 8 am...supper was ready by 6 pm. The meat was extremely tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This turned out so good my son ate potatoes for the first time EVER (other than french fries)! Unfortunately I cannot get my re-heats of the left-overs anywhere near as tasty as the fresh out of the crockpot flavor. I will absolutely make this again, worked out perfectly ready to eat after a long work day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was melt in your mouth delicious! I used a 2.5 lb chuck and let it go for 9-10 hours. It was falling apart and was perfect! I, like other reviewers used low sodium beef broth. I made up my own rub and used that before browning it in the pan (Kosher salt, fresh ground pepper, red pepper flakes, paprika, and garlic powder). I made a gravy from the leavings in the crock pot and that was delicious as well (Just the juice/broth with a cornstarch/water mixture -- added some salt and pepper). I also used Yukon Gold potatoes. Those or red potatoes are really best for this kind of thing. They hold together better than Russet. I just ate some leftovers for lunch and they were just as good as last night. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was a great recipe! Reading the tips from others was really helpful. I seasoned the meat and then seared it on all sides before marinating it in the slow cooker pot in the fridge with the veggies and some potatoes over night. I used onion powder, parsley, garlic pepper, salt, and pepper for seasoning. Also, I added a can of chicken stock, 2 cans of water, and some Worcestershire sauce for the marinade. I also threw in some minced garlic and one sliced onion. Another recipe told me I should put everything on the bottom of the slow cooker and the meat on top. I did that and cooked it on low for 10 hours. It was amazing and completely fell off the bone! The potatoes came out beautifully. I used five small Yukon golds and next time I would definitely make more and add another onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My first roast. Everyone loved it. Great leftovers too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cre3p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was amazing. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used beef broth instead of water, and put the vegetables in half way through instead of the beginning and it came out perferct! I also didn't brown the meat due to lack of prep time in the morning, and it was still delicious. I can only imagine if I had the time to bronw the meat first. Thank you Maria for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was so gross... maybe I just don't like pot roast. My husband hated it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Wow! You guys are turning me into a freakin' chef! The roast turned out very tender and my husband couldn't get enough of it. I used beef broth instead of water and coarser vegetables (whole baby carrots, vidalia onions quartered, and small red potatoes halfed with skin on.) The vegetables were added half way through and turned out firm but tender. Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Excellent, the only thing that I would add is a pack of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Best thing I've cooked in my crockpot yet! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't brown the meat first and I added beef bullion to the water. Perfect amount of meat and veggies. A little bland but a little salt took care of that. Next time I might add sone Worsteshire. This is a great recipe as is or to spice according to your tastes. Thanks Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States