Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Family really liked it. Seasoned chuck roast with salt, onion powder, garlic powder, mustard and a little cayenne. Seared in skillet on all sides. Placed in crock pot for 6 hours. Instead of water used chicken broth and added two bay leafs. Didn't add onion or celery because we didn't have any and we didn't miss it. Added my potatoes two hours before it was done, carrots and fresh green beans 1.5 hours before done and then handful of mushrooms 15 min before serving. Perfectly cooked and seasoned. Veggies were not mush and had great flavor. Only enough left for hubby next day and he didn't mind eating it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this for my husband and my good neighbor for lunch yesterday and we all agreed that it was THE BEST pot roast we had ever tasted! The meat was so juicy and tender (as opposed to dry and stringy, as my pot roasts usually are!) and the flavor was unbelievably delicious. The only changes I made were to add beef broth instead of the water, some browned garlic and 1/2 cup of burgundy. I also LIGHTLY floured the meat along with the salt, pepper and a smidgeon of paprika. I cooked the dish on high for 2 hours, THEN added the carrots, potatoes and the onion and let it cook for an additional 2-1/4 hours (for a total of 4-1/4 hours). Unfortunately, I used a 2-1/2 lb. roast figuring that would be enough for three diners --- and it was. But I am now sorry I didn't use the larger roast so that we could enjoy the delicious meal a second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I prepared the roast as directed but I omitted the potatoes. While I love the vegetables mushy and full of flavor, my family doesn't. When the roast was finished, I strained the vegetables (carrot, celery, onion and garlic per some other reviews) and used the juice to make the best gravy I've ever tasted. I served the roast with steamed carrots and sky-high Yorkshire pudding from all recipes - we didn't miss the potatoes. My mother never made roast beast that tasted like this; I will make this again. Thanks, Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I just received my very 1st slow cooker as a gift, but it is only 1.5 qts. Would someone tell me what temp and for how long to make this recipe in one that small, with - of course- smaller roast and less veggies?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Good and Eazy...My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was so easy and yummy! The only change I made was to use beef broth instead of water. I prepared everything the night before and my husband put it all the the slow cooker the next morning at 8 am...supper was ready by 6 pm. The meat was extremely tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This turned out so good my son ate potatoes for the first time EVER (other than french fries)! Unfortunately I cannot get my re-heats of the left-overs anywhere near as tasty as the fresh out of the crockpot flavor. I will absolutely make this again, worked out perfectly ready to eat after a long work day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was melt in your mouth delicious! I used a 2.5 lb chuck and let it go for 9-10 hours. It was falling apart and was perfect! I, like other reviewers used low sodium beef broth. I made up my own rub and used that before browning it in the pan (Kosher salt, fresh ground pepper, red pepper flakes, paprika, and garlic powder). I made a gravy from the leavings in the crock pot and that was delicious as well (Just the juice/broth with a cornstarch/water mixture -- added some salt and pepper). I also used Yukon Gold potatoes. Those or red potatoes are really best for this kind of thing. They hold together better than Russet. I just ate some leftovers for lunch and they were just as good as last night. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was a great recipe! Reading the tips from others was really helpful. I seasoned the meat and then seared it on all sides before marinating it in the slow cooker pot in the fridge with the veggies and some potatoes over night. I used onion powder, parsley, garlic pepper, salt, and pepper for seasoning. Also, I added a can of chicken stock, 2 cans of water, and some Worcestershire sauce for the marinade. I also threw in some minced garlic and one sliced onion. Another recipe told me I should put everything on the bottom of the slow cooker and the meat on top. I did that and cooked it on low for 10 hours. It was amazing and completely fell off the bone! The potatoes came out beautifully. I used five small Yukon golds and next time I would definitely make more and add another onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States