Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made some changes: Used a can of beef broth rather than dry onion mix and water at the begining. I browned the meat in garlic, paprika, salt and pepper like another reviewer mentioned. cooked down with a sliced onion. 4 Hours on low. Then I added 5 small red potatoes cubed, the top 1/3 of a bunch of celery, using both leaves and the stalks. I added a double handful of baby carrots to fill my crock pot. Then I opened a cream of mushroom soup can over the top of it all. I added more paprika and stirred. High for 3 hours and then low until we ate it. My husband, the good Midwesterner he is loved it. I thought it was pretty good, rich sauce, but not gooey. We just added salt and pepper to taste at the table. Meat fell apart and was enough to be satisfying, but there were enough veggies round out the meal. I served it with bread and butter. For the future, I would serve it with even more veggies, like maybe some sauteed cabbage in the bottom of the bowl, and probablly home made bread. If i had more room in the crock pot I would have made dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was phenomenal. My husband said it was the best roast he'd had in a long time. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was fantastic! Super easy to prepare in the morning and have it ready by dinner time. The smell in the house is amazing. Great recipe for just a stew or to pour over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I used 2 cups beef broth, some Montreal Steak Seasonng and a little Worchestire sauce instead of plain water. It was very moist and it was good but I think it needed a little more salt or something to give it a little more flavor. I would add more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Oh. MY. GOD. haha that about sums it up! This is a delicious and super easy weeknight dinner. Even my 1.5, 3 and 5 year olds devoured it! I took other reviewers suggestions and seasoned/seared the meat first and the results were amazing. I may just have to add this to my weekly menu list! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This pot roast was delicious. I took advice from a few others and seasons my 2.5lb chuck roast with garlic powder, pepper, salt, onion powder and Montreal steak rub. Browned it on all sides in a little olive oil before placing it in the slow cooker. I added the dry onion mix and 2 cans of beef broth, and left it for 5 hrs on low. At hr 5 I added green beans and whole baby carrots and left it for another 2.5 hours. After 7.5 hrs I moved the roast and veggies to another container with a little of its own juice (the meat was falling apart). I took some of the juice from the slow cooker, mixed it w/ flour to make gravy. I served with mashed potatoes. Hubby loved it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
SO GOOD. I added a little bit of worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layla
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. Although some people complain about reviewers modifying the recipe, I value the comments. Without those comments, this site would be just like all the others. Based on the other reviewers, I used 2 cups of low sodium Beef Broth and added extra baby carrots and red potatoes. I also included the vegetables at the beginning because we like soft not crunchy vegetables. It's really a person's personal preference that will determine when to add the vegetables. I made a rub for the roast and placed vegetables at the bottom of the crockpot and added the meat. I let this marinade overnight and started cooking in the morning. It was a hit with the family and has become a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I luv luv luv this pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was incredibly delicious. I used a 3-pound chuck roast (which was fatter than I expected) and browned it on all sides. After I put the roast in the slow cooker, I looked at the bits in the pan and decided to deglaze it with a little (maybe 3-4 Tbsp) balsamic vinegar. Next I poked 4 peeled and smashed garlic cloves in the roast and poured the thickened balsamic on it. Then I put a large sliced white onion on top and sprinkled the onion soup mix over that. Finally, I poured the water over everything and put it in the fridge. Around midnight, I took it out of the fridge and put it in the cooker on low. When I woke up at 7, I added 3/4 pound of baby carrots and another large white onion (sliced). After about another hour, I noticed the roast was falling apart, so I took it out and covered it with foil while everything else cooked another 2 hours. Then I drained off the liquid and let it separate (because my roast was so fatty). I skimmed off as much of the fat and put the roast, carrots, and onions back in the pot, followed by the skimmed liquid and left it on warm until it was ready to serve. The roast was fork tender and full of flavor. I served it with rice, carrots, and onions. I look forward to eating the leftovers. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing, Marie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States