Maria's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was a big hit tonight. It was easy to make ahead, added the butter to the rice, bouillon, and lipton soup mix, and set aside for my husband to add water and pop in the oven when he got home from work. I used 1 cup brown rice, 1 package Lipton onion soup mix, 1 beef bouillon cube, half the butter, and 18oz water. Cooked it at 375 for an hour and 5 minutes, half covered, uncovered for the rest of the time. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Cummins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I love this recipe! Simple and flavorful and goes great with any beef entree. I did it on the stovetop, used onion soup mix plus water plus 1 can of beef broth, and basmati rice. Garnished with chopped green onions for color. Served with meatloaf. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed... The rice texture was perfect, but my family and I thought that the onion flavor was over-powering. Too much onion for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Yummy!! Tastes great with roast,pork chops or a rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Super easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Made this rice for dinner, we liked the flavor. I used one package of Lipton's dry Onion Soup, one can of Campbell's Beef Consume, one can of water, and one cup of dry white long grain rice. I used the full 1/2 cup of butter but it ended up being much too oily for us. I will try using only 2 tablespoons of butter next time. I will also follow another reviewer's idea & add a cup of peas next time, maybe some fresh mushrooms, & some green onions chopped up & sprinkled on top. Maybe a bit of garlic powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anb1124
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
LOVE this rice! Like others, I didn't have canned French onion soup so I used a packet of onion soup mix and a cup of water. Loved it so much that way that I've made it every time like that! I also place my pork chops in the same pan to bake with the rice and they turn out fantastic and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
followed except,boiled the rice,sauteed frozen chopped onion and a squirt of bottled minced garlic from fridge. precooked frozen chicken,eggs,mushrooms...then go nuts w veg combos. Stands as a one pot main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbishop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE this rice! So easy & simple. Goes great with a mid rare steak & grilled veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was really great. I heard some reviews which didn't make sense to me like this rice tastes like blah. It made me wonder if they 1. actually put in the ingredients it states in the recipe and 2. did they stir everything up a little so all the french onion soup and beef broth gets into the rice and 3. did these people actually ever have french onion soup, because it does not taste like blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States