Maria's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
GOOD TASTING and EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Really liked the flavor, but I had to make a small change. Instead of onion soup, I added 3 tsp of minced garlic (didn't have any onion soup), and used 2-1/2 cups broth. Tasted great! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the rice kind of burns around the edges of the baking dish and lightly on the top. This caused my daughter to spit it out (not the recipe's fault) and not eat it. I think next time I'll keep it covered for 45 minutes, and uncovered for only 15 (may help). But this really had a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook by default
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe makes some DELICIOUS rice. I dont like to change recipes the first time I make them (otherwise how are you giving a fair review?) so I didnt and it was great. Now I make it with only 1/4 cup of butter which turns out just as yummy. And sometimes when I want this with a quick meal, I will substitute instant brown rice and it cuts the cook time in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskinner51207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Le Claire, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Delicious and so easy.....used about 1/2c more rice and upped the beef broth....also used low sodium broth. Added a pack of sliced fresh mushrooms and reduced butter to 1/4c. Very yummy ...my company enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Thanks for such a good recipe that is EASY to make! Family loved it. I also. as suggested by another, added frozen peas and green onions. It's the perfect rice when bbqing because you add everything all at once in the pan and pop into the oven. Will make this again and again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Good - but salty. Really salty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Arlington

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I use the same thing but I use non meat based broth which is also fat free and only a table spoon of butter. I also add assorted veggies after the first 30min. Mushrooms, bell pepper, green peas. Very good side to any salty dish, or meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was a good recipe taste wise, but next time I'll have to try it with white rice instead of brown. I suggest if you use brown rice to cook it before you follow this recipe because mine didn't cook before soaking up all the fluid. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plutosplaytime

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I think this was very good. However, WAY TOO MUCH BUTTER! I used white sticky rice, cream of mushroom soup with garlic and beef broth. I will make it again, but with 1/2 or less of the butter! I should have went with my gut feeling when making it, I knew it would be too much butter! Also, I cooked it for about 30 mins covered and about 12 mins without foil and some of it was burnt on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
A very good, simple recipe. I will definitely be making this again. The only problem I had was that the top layer of rice got well done and the edges were crispy. I didn't see anyone else mention a problem with the cooking time, so I may have to check my oven temp or it could possibly be the cook. :) I might try lowering the temp to 400 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States