Maria's Portuguese Bacalau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I can't say I loved this recipe. It was decent but not a dish that bowled me over. It felt like it was missing something (perhaps tomatoes, which I've heard they add in Brazil?). Probably not something that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this tonight for 4 ppl I had to use 4 large onions and doubled the wet ingredients cause it didn't lookalike enough, and I was glad I did it made the difference for me. My husband asked me if I cooked this all day,lol. We loved it will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I read an article once that made my want to try this dish, and saw salt cod advertised at a local market. Like fish, like salt, like potatoes, love olives...but didn't care for this dish! The fish was chewy. The potatoes came out crunchy; as another reviewer noted, slice before boiling. But I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I thought the dish was very tasty but mine was a bit dry. I followed the recipe exactly. I would have preferred it less dry. I had not eaten this before so did not know what to expect. However I would cook it again, and possibly have a sauce on the side also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
In response to paige's question: Go to allrecipes.com.br and look up bolinhas de bacalhau. The recipe(s) are in Brasilian Portuguese but can be translated easily with babelfish translator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I just have a question for you, I see you have a lot of Portuguese recipes on here. I was wondering if you would be able to help me, My grandmother was Portuguese, she made this side dish (maybe an app) so to say, she made every christmas, being that she grew up on the old country she never wrote anything down. We called them fish balls, I believe they had cod in them but I'm not really sure (I was very young) and my mother didn't write it down either, but she tried to make them once, but it wasn't the same. I was wondering if you would happen to have this recipe or something like it? It would be Greatly appreciated. since I've long for this every christmas. Thanks for the help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Barnhart
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This has got to be one of the - if not the best Bacalau dishes ever! My mother makes this as well and calls it Bacalhau à Gomes de Sá just like some other reviwer put it. LOVE IT! What I also did to change it up slightly was slice some tomatoe in between the layers to add a little more extra flavour and a bay leaf when satueing the onions..that's it. Thanks for putting such a great Portuguese recipe online! Viva!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina DC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very yummy!! I make this recipe now and then when I get a craving for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwilson123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
The BEST Bacalhau recipe!! I couldn't find salted cod, so I also used thawed fresh cod fish fillets as did a previous reviewer. It came out just as good as my Brazilian-Portuguese grandmother used to make it. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Used blue potatoes I found at the farmer's market -- very good! I only managed to soak the fish for about 16 hours before I started cooking, and it was still a little too salty, but still pretty tasty. Also, I didn't particularly like the pitted green olives I found at the grocery store -- get a different kind in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States