Maria's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I'm a vegetarian but my husband eats meat, and this is the first time I've ever attempted to make a meat dish for him. I got a new wok for Christmas and decided to try to make his favorite "pepper steak" which he always orders at Chinese restaurants. He said this was pretty good but a little too "soy saucey." The flavors sound good to me and I may try this sauce with just some veggies and rice. Thanks for the recipe, it seems like a great starting point for some yummy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This was very good, and I will be making this time and time again. I used 1/2 chicken strips, 1/2 steak strips. I KNOW it must be fantastic with the peppers (I LOVE peppers, hubby hates them), but I substituted baby carrots and corn. I sauted the carrots with the garlic and onion. And mixed the corn in at the end, with 2 cups of cooked white rice. Very delicious! Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Delicious! And so easy you can't mess it up! Perfect for the beginner in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Pretty tasty stuff, I just thought it needed a little something more, but I will make again! I did not cook as long as the recipe said, since I thought the steak would get tough and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very tasty. My kids weren't thrilled about it, but I thought it was good. We had homemade rolls with it and we found that putting the steak, onion, and pepper on a roll as a sandwich was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I served it with linquine noodles and it tasted great. This was a huge hit with my family, is definitely up there with our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was delicious. The only change I made was I used leftover roast beef cut in strips and I used half red wine vinegar and half balsamic vinegar. My husband loved it. I did thicken the sauce with cornstarch and water. The second time I made it, I used teriyaki marinade instead of soy sauce (much less sodium) and added water chestnuts. This is a favorite recipe. Thanks Maria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was a great and easy recipe. Its a great dinner for unexpected company.Its presentation is wonderful when served over rice. I cooked the steak about half the time the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Very good recipe! A little sweet with a little tang. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made this recipe using pork tenderloin instead of the beef, as specified. It is OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! My husband & I both just ADORED it & it is going to be a new regular on our dinner table. The sauce is what really "makes" it -- zingy, tangy, slightly sweet without being overpowering -- truly amazing! My husband likened it to "poprocks" in a peppery sort of way. Thank you for sharing this with us, Maria! P.S. I added a few red pepper flakes in with ours, so that may be a part of the greatness, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States