Maria's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I'm a vegetarian but my husband eats meat, and this is the first time I've ever attempted to make a meat dish for him. I got a new wok for Christmas and decided to try to make his favorite "pepper steak" which he always orders at Chinese restaurants. He said this was pretty good but a little too "soy saucey." The flavors sound good to me and I may try this sauce with just some veggies and rice. Thanks for the recipe, it seems like a great starting point for some yummy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This was very good, and I will be making this time and time again. I used 1/2 chicken strips, 1/2 steak strips. I KNOW it must be fantastic with the peppers (I LOVE peppers, hubby hates them), but I substituted baby carrots and corn. I sauted the carrots with the garlic and onion. And mixed the corn in at the end, with 2 cups of cooked white rice. Very delicious! Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Delicious! And so easy you can't mess it up! Perfect for the beginner in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Pretty tasty stuff, I just thought it needed a little something more, but I will make again! I did not cook as long as the recipe said, since I thought the steak would get tough and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very tasty. My kids weren't thrilled about it, but I thought it was good. We had homemade rolls with it and we found that putting the steak, onion, and pepper on a roll as a sandwich was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I served it with linquine noodles and it tasted great. This was a huge hit with my family, is definitely up there with our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was delicious. The only change I made was I used leftover roast beef cut in strips and I used half red wine vinegar and half balsamic vinegar. My husband loved it. I did thicken the sauce with cornstarch and water. The second time I made it, I used teriyaki marinade instead of soy sauce (much less sodium) and added water chestnuts. This is a favorite recipe. Thanks Maria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was a great and easy recipe. Its a great dinner for unexpected company.Its presentation is wonderful when served over rice. I cooked the steak about half the time the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Very good recipe! A little sweet with a little tang. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made this recipe using pork tenderloin instead of the beef, as specified. It is OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! My husband & I both just ADORED it & it is going to be a new regular on our dinner table. The sauce is what really "makes" it -- zingy, tangy, slightly sweet without being overpowering -- truly amazing! My husband likened it to "poprocks" in a peppery sort of way. Thank you for sharing this with us, Maria! P.S. I added a few red pepper flakes in with ours, so that may be a part of the greatness, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States