Maria's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe was really surprising (much better than i thought it would be). I've made it twice, once with just onions and garlic, then tossing some baby spinach and chopped celery (adds the crunch of water chestnut) in before serving. The first time, broccoli and onions were also delicious. I always add ground ginger, red pepper flakes, onion powder, ground pepper and about a tablespoon and a half of cornstarch. It takes about forty minutes and tastes like it takes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
So delicious. I'm not a cook per se so I was very happy when this came out as good as it did. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
this recipe is really good and yes it need some changes but overall you can get good flavor from this my boyfriend..It came out the BOMB.... Now you will need to cook the strips of steak in 3 tables spoon of EVO I put lid over the skillet and tossed the strips around w/ steak seasoning & some added garlic powder.. I did this for about 15 minutes they were good and brown. I then removed the meat let the water that came from the meet to reduce down some added little more EVO an then tossed in the onions & green peppers.. cooked this down some then took the veggies out.. I then poured in my sauce mixture.. Now with the sauce.. I suggest cutting back on the RWV , since I had 2lbs of meat.. I did need to increase the sauce .. but it came out very very good when I added the meat & veggies back into the sauce w/ 1/2 cup of water mixed with a teaspoon of corn starch for thickening .. I let it simmer for 40 minutes..the meat came out so tender...you can add mushrooms to the veggies too.. This same recipe can be done w/ chicken as well if you trying to cut back on red meat..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was absolutely amazing! Although I had to substitute white wine vinegar for Red wine vinegar it still turned out really good. It's a definite keeper and I can't wait to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Delicious and easy. Nothing to change in this recipe. A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I wish I would've seen the reviews that suggested the red pepper flakes and the sesame seeds for garnish! I did not have honey so I substituted Apricot Jellly. I found a low sodium soy sauce but it was still really salty. Great with a side of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Heying Manco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great flavors and easy to make. This recipe is super easy to follow. I cooked everything separately, vegetables, steak, and sauce then combined it all. I made some fried rice as a side dish and my girls loved it! I did add a little corn starch to thickened up the sauce and added red pepper flakes as suggested. We love spicy foods! Super delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious!!! I sliced up thin flank steak and marinated the steak with a dash of baking soda and 1 teaspoon of cornstarch, 1 teaspoon of soya sauce and minced garlic and let it sit for 30 min or so while i sliced onions, mushroom, green peppers . A hit with kids and adults !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I put mine in a crockpot after cutting up everything. I doubled the peppers and onions and then doubled the honey and soy. I added 3 cups water and let it cook for 8 hours on low. It was exceptional. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States