Maria's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
We took the advice of others and cut the honey down and only used 2 Tbsp. Also, used 2 T of water and 2 T of white balsamic vingar.....then I thickend the sauce with a little cornstarch and a little more water....had a really good taste, not too sweet or sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This recipe turned out great for us. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I just made this and i must say wow! Its got great flavor and is really simple to make. I will definitely be making this again! I did use apple cider vinegar instead of red wine because I didnt have any but it's still a very delicious recipe, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I made this dish last night and I have to say that it was it was a little too tangy/ sweet. I will definitely cut down on the red wine vinegar and honey next time I make it. Other than that, I think it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe is abslutely wonderful. The only thing I did different was I bought New York strip steak. I pre-cooked the steak strips in a little olive oil and garlic powder. Then followed the recipe exact. I didn't have a problem with the thickness. I will make this again. It is very rare that you can find a recipe and follow it almost exact and it come out tasting delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is a really good dish. However, it's really sweet-and-sour beef with peppers, not real pepper steak. The recipe omits a key ingredient: pepper. I used 2 tsp of coarse ground pepper. Still very very good, but I would probably omit the vinegar and honey, opting to add a little water with cornstarch to thicken with the natural juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My boys loved this! My 9-year-old son said it was the best thing he's ever had. I did use round steaks because that is what I usually use for pepper steak and marinated the beef for about an hour, stir-fried the veggies separately, then drained and stir-fried the beef in two batches, simmered in the sauce for about 30 minutes, thickened the sauce with cornstarch/water and added the veggies back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I am giving this a 3 star because even tho it taste good its sauce was to strong with something that made my and my daughters tongue and mouths raw.I have made the recipe"Easy Pepper Steak" on this site and it was 5 star. The meat was tender because I did as one lady suggested and stir fried the veggies and then meat and set aside,made the sauce and then mixed together and let cook a few minutes. I thickened with corn starch and a little beef broth mixture and added a tad of grated fresh ginger. I served with Veggie Fried Rice which I made mild due to the strongness of the pepper steak and we got takeout egg rolls because I didn't feel like making my homemade.Thanks for sharing and I am sure this would be a 5 star for many people. It does have a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is excellent, and a 5 star recipe after a couple of tweaks. The sauce is just the right balance of sweet and sour, but I thought it was missing something. I grated some fresh ginger into the sauce and it was perfect. I also agree with the reviewer that mentioned cooking the steak by itself in a little oil after the vegetables are removed from the pan and then setting the steak aside, instead of cooking it in the sauce. Add the sauce to the pan/wok after pouring out any fat and boil gently until thickened and then toss the meat and peppers back in and stir to coat. Very easy to throw this together and can be done quickly since no marinating is required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
not for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nestars@yahoo.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States