Maria's Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
I didn't have any saffron on hand, but I had saffron rice (with the seasoning in the packets). I used 3c of that and substituted 3c of seafood broth for 3c of the water, and 1c white wine for 1c of the water. I added 3 tbs chopped green olives, 1c peas, 1c smoked sausage, 2 tbs smoked paprika, 2 tsp salt, 1 tbs black pepper, and one minced Jalepeno for a little heat. It turned out amazing and I will definitely make it again. It got rave reviews by the dinner guests and there are plenty of leftovers for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Excellent paella! Just to be sure, I cooked all the meat separately, and added after the rice was cooked (I baked chicken thighs and took the meat off the bone.) Instead of water, I used 6 cups chicken broth plus 2/3 cup of white wine, and also let it cook an extra 10 minutes. Like many other reviewers, I added thawed, frozen peas when I added the meat. FIRST TIME PAELLA MAKERS, READ AS MANY REVIEWS AS YOU CAN BEFORE MAKING! All these reviews will greatly help you achieve a perfect entree! :D This is a WONDERFUL, fool-proof dish to make for company! Serve with some fresh fruit and maybe some cornbread for a perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was a good paella recipe, but it was a bit bland for us and the rice to seafood ratio is way too heavy on the rice. Next time we'll reduce the rice to 2 cups, which will still be plenty. I know paella isn't supposed to be spicy, but we enjoy a bit of fire. We added hot pepper sauce to ours and it was much more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Not my favorite, a lot of rice and a bit on the bland side. Added red pepper flakes at the table to pep it up a bit, think the Rotel idea would be good and adding some paprika as I've seen in other recipes. Added the seafood at the end, still plenty of seafood flavor and it wasn't overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I chose this recipe since it seemed to be one of the most authentic on the site. I made it for mother's day lunch and the results were absolutely delicious! I was a little worried because my father is a tough critic when it comes to food and a master rice maker but he loved it and even had seconds. The only change I made was to use chicken broth instead of water. An excellent dish with room for variation. Thanks for this excellent recipe- will be making for company soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is a very good Paella recipe, but I would cut the rice in half and add more shrimp, clams, mussels, scallops,etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bgreenstone
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I was skeptical when I read the recipe because it didn't have any chicken/seafood broth in it. As expected, it was a pretty dry and not very flavorful paella. I've had much better. It didn't have that seafood flavor that defines a paella, instead, it just tasted like rice with some seafood on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I made this for a group of our friends, after we returned from Catalunya (Barcelona, Spain). It was a hit! I did adjust it slightly. I used Rotel to replace the crushed tomatoes and chicken broth to replace the water. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for the recipe from your family heritage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chagyrlchicky
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
First time making paella, but made a few changes. I added about a pound of chicken breast tenders instead, hubby didn't want any bones. Instead of using water I used chicken broth and reduced the amount from 6 cups to 4 cups. I saw in a another recipe to add a bay leaf and i did. Definitely brought together the flavors. Last but not least i added large cooked shrimp and fully cooked mussels. AMazing we usually pay $45 at a local restaurant for this and now we can just make it ourselves. Overall great recipe. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chagyrlchicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
We recently ate our way through Barcelona, trying different paella dishes. This recipe is one that comes really close to what is served there. Most other recipes on the web have chorizo in them, which is NEVER used in the better restaurants since it overwhelms the taste of the seafood. You can add whatever veggies or extras you want to this as well. Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States