Maria's Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe is so delicious. I used one can tomato sauce and frozen seafood mix. The amount is a lot (enough for about 5 or 6 people).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Great recipe overall, but our rice required at least 10 more minutes at a simmer to not be crunchy. We also followed advice to use chicken stock for 4 cups of the liquid, some hot sauce and rotelle. Makes enough for family plus company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
We had a few changes of our own. We used the rotel as someone else recommended. But, we only used half can of the habinaro Rotel. Couldnt get clams or mussells, so, we added some halibut and salmon. Increased the amount of shrimp and calamari. We didnt have any saffron so we used 2 packages of saffron rice instead. Overall it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this recipe this past weekend for my husband's birthday/Valentine dinner. It was wonderful and so easy. Lots of nice color to the dish. I added a dozen mussels as well as littleneck clams. I also added a variation of clamari so there were also the little spider like tentacles for texture. All in all, my dinner was a huge success. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was very easy to make. My family loved it. As with most recipes, taste is subjective. We like spicy, so I made a few changes. I used a mixture of vegetable broth and fish stock (I made the fish stock with the shrimp and lobster shells). Maybe 1/2 cup white wine? As suggested by another reviewer I used a 14 oz. can of Rotel Tomatoes, I would change that to 28 oz. I added 2 tsp. of HOT paprika, too. Could use more heat, even with that added. I would also suggest not stirring so much, makes the rice mushy. Don't get me wrong, we LOVED this recipe and would recommend this easy recipe to anyone! Plenty of food leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was delish! I did do a couple things different. I didn't have thighs so I used chicken breasts, I used turmeric since I didn't have saffron and I used zucchini instead of peas because we didn't have any of those either. Even with all the substitutions it as really yummy! We will definitely make it again - thanks for the yummy recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I just spent a couple months studying in Spain where paella became my favorite food. This was good, but not quite what my host mom made for me. The rice could use a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Wow, was this delicious! I made a few alterations - a friend who lived in Spain said you can substitue turmeric for the saffron without much taste difference and it worked great. I also had a bag of frozen paella seafood mix from Sam's Club - so I just guesstimated the amount needed. Use chicken breast chunks instead of thighs. I also followed the suggestion to substitue a can of Rotel (used Habenero Rote) for part of the diced tomatoes and that added GREAT flavor. This makes more than enough for 6 people though - we have a ton of leftovers, although that's ok as I don't mind leftovers! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this yesterday with just a couple changes. I omitted the chicken and used fish broth rather than water. I would maybe use a mixture of fish and chicken broth next time for a little more flavor but this was overall a really yummy dish. Such an easy recipe once you have everything assembled. The combination of seafood was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Tried several other Paella recipes and had mixed results. This one is by far the best I have tried. Excellent results. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States