Maria's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Goes well with sausage! My daughters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is wonderful rice. Added a can of diced tomatoes, just because I love it in Mexican rice, and a whole onion. I also used a second serrano, and I'm glad I did. You can definitely taste the pepper without getting much heat. Was a bit heavy handed with the cumin, but not too much. The key is toasting the rice before adding the liquid, adds a lot of flavor and coating each grain with the oil makes for a really great texture. Make sure to get the rice brown. I also "bloomed" the spices before adding the liquid. Used stock instead of water+bouillon, and only 2 cups. This really has a deep, well balanced flavor with a very nice texture. I'm keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was tasy and very easy. I am latina and like a lot of flavor and this dish was flavorful. I used brown rice instead of white since we are trying to eat healthier dishes. If I make it in the future with white rice, I would probably cut down on the water because otherwise 2-1/2 cups of water would make the rice soupy, which I do not like. I used a red hot chili pepper (whole) from our garden and it was not super spicy at all. Just mild amount of heat. I did not use salt since the chicken bouillon is salty enough (i used one cube). cooked it in a rice cooker and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
delicious!! I am always trying to find a mexican rice dish my husband likes-this is it!! He even ate the cooked pepper...I cooked it in 2 pieces but put it in a little late-next time I'll add it earlier bcuz I really think it adds to the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
The directions were very clear and it was easy to make, but it had zero flavor. We cooked it with the serrano chile and it was still very bland. We will have to do some adjustments next time we make it to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Very tasty. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
So many times it's hard to find a review where someone reviews the recipe exactly AS WRITTEN. Well, I made it exactly as written and it was great! It was easy to make and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This rice is so good and really easy to make. I didn't change anything. I've made this a few times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made the rice exactly as in the recipe. The only thing that got changed is that I did not have tomato sauce. Instead I used 1/2 can of Campbell's tomato soup that was in the fridge dying to have a purpose. We all loved the rice. Went great with our chili con carne, tortillas and nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States