Maria's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is wonderful rice. Added a can of diced tomatoes, just because I love it in Mexican rice, and a whole onion. I also used a second serrano, and I'm glad I did. You can definitely taste the pepper without getting much heat. Was a bit heavy handed with the cumin, but not too much. The key is toasting the rice before adding the liquid, adds a lot of flavor and coating each grain with the oil makes for a really great texture. Make sure to get the rice brown. I also "bloomed" the spices before adding the liquid. Used stock instead of water+bouillon, and only 2 cups. This really has a deep, well balanced flavor with a very nice texture. I'm keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was tasy and very easy. I am latina and like a lot of flavor and this dish was flavorful. I used brown rice instead of white since we are trying to eat healthier dishes. If I make it in the future with white rice, I would probably cut down on the water because otherwise 2-1/2 cups of water would make the rice soupy, which I do not like. I used a red hot chili pepper (whole) from our garden and it was not super spicy at all. Just mild amount of heat. I did not use salt since the chicken bouillon is salty enough (i used one cube). cooked it in a rice cooker and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
delicious!! I am always trying to find a mexican rice dish my husband likes-this is it!! He even ate the cooked pepper...I cooked it in 2 pieces but put it in a little late-next time I'll add it earlier bcuz I really think it adds to the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
The directions were very clear and it was easy to make, but it had zero flavor. We cooked it with the serrano chile and it was still very bland. We will have to do some adjustments next time we make it to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Very tasty. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
So many times it's hard to find a review where someone reviews the recipe exactly AS WRITTEN. Well, I made it exactly as written and it was great! It was easy to make and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This rice is so good and really easy to make. I didn't change anything. I've made this a few times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made the rice exactly as in the recipe. The only thing that got changed is that I did not have tomato sauce. Instead I used 1/2 can of Campbell's tomato soup that was in the fridge dying to have a purpose. We all loved the rice. Went great with our chili con carne, tortillas and nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Look no further for an authentic Mexican rice recipe, this is it. My mother ran a very successful Mexican restaurant with my aunt in chihuahua Mexico for many years before marrying my dad and this is the recipe she uses to this day. I have never had a better tasting rice in any wannabe Mexican restaurant here in the states. She adjusted the recipe for my brothers who won't eat onions without loosing flavor. Instead of sautéing the onions, she blends it with a clove of garlic and a quarter cup of water and adds it along with the water. This eliminates the use of garlic powder and uses the healthier option of real garlic. If you are out of tomato sauce, you can also blend a fresh tomato to the onion and garlic mixture. We never add pepper and cumin though, the chicken bullion and salt should be plenty of flavor. Taste the broth once all the liquid an spice has been added to the fried rice before it is absorbed, this will be a great time to taste test for flavor, if any is needed add more, if it has too much, add more water. A can of mixed veggies can also be added at this point, we always use peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
since this was my first time making Mexican rice, I'd say it was a success. i only made a few minor changes including leaving out the water and adding more bouillon which was beef instead of chicken. can't wait for dinner tonight. we're having chicken and rice burritos with horchata!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States