Maria's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
since this was my first time making Mexican rice, I'd say it was a success. i only made a few minor changes including leaving out the water and adding more bouillon which was beef instead of chicken. can't wait for dinner tonight. we're having chicken and rice burritos with horchata!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Excellent recipe. I have tried many different Mexican rice recipes and this is the one I will make again. I did leave out the salt as I figured the Better than Bouillon tablespoon had enough sodium for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Really yummy! Left out the onion and pepper due to personal taste and added some peas and corn. Simple and delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a fantastic rice! I went with my instincts and doubled the cumin and halved the salt. It would have been far too salty for us and our toddler especially. The bouillon provides plenty of salt. Skipped the serrano since I hadn't realized mine were no longer fresh enough. With these changes, I think this is the new go-to Mexi-rice recipe for our house! I'll have to try it with the chile next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I'm surprised there aren't more people who found their rice to be as salty as it was for me (maybe I measured incorrectly??). Could have done without the salt. I will try this again with less or no salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cortne
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Just added peas and carrots . Whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This rice has exactly the flavor that I was looking for. It is very easy to make as well. I've made it twice now and I highly recommend using the serrano pepper. It really does add quite a bit of flavor. The only thing I would do differently is to omit the salt. The first time I made the recipe, I used a little bit but still thought it was too salty. Other than that, this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Loved it. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I've made this twice in less than a week. The first time I didn't have any serrano peppers, but the second time I made sure to and I definitely think it makes a difference. I have to say I've tried many Mexican rice recipes and have never been happy. This one is WONDERFUL!!!!! I always have cartons of chicken broth on hand, so the only change is that I use that instead of the water/bullion combination. Love it! Thanks so much for the delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdantzler65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna G
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
OMG!!! The best ever. I did change it up just a tad. I doubled the recipe using 4 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup water. Also, I used some tomato paste from the tube rather than what the recipe originally called for. Once I added liquid I covered the pan, cooked on med - high for 10 mins and turned to me - low for 20...never touched the lid! It's important to leave the lid alone and trust that it's cooking properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States