Maria's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Really really good! And not to mention super easy. I added corn & will add peas and carrots next time! Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was everything I wanted it to be. I did use a Serrano chili for flavor. Fixed for company dinner. They raved about it. No leftovers. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Woah!! This rice was amazing! I did sub salsa for the tomato sauce just because it's what I had on hand. But this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Awesome, don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
1/2 Teaspoon of salt, not tablespoon. Used a couple good squirts of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I tried so many recipes looking for the perfect Mexican Rice, and I ended my search here. This is, hands down, the BEST rice I've ever had. My picky husband can't even eat rice at Mexican food places anymore, because he says, "It doesn't even compare to your rice." Usually at restaurants, the rice is just bland and so-so...it's just kinda there on the plate. But this rice steals the show. I make it exactly as written, and it is PERFECT. Try this one, and you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Best Mexican rice I've ever had! Served with chicken enchiladas from this site. I used basmati brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Goes well with sausage! My daughters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is wonderful rice. Added a can of diced tomatoes, just because I love it in Mexican rice, and a whole onion. I also used a second serrano, and I'm glad I did. You can definitely taste the pepper without getting much heat. Was a bit heavy handed with the cumin, but not too much. The key is toasting the rice before adding the liquid, adds a lot of flavor and coating each grain with the oil makes for a really great texture. Make sure to get the rice brown. I also "bloomed" the spices before adding the liquid. Used stock instead of water+bouillon, and only 2 cups. This really has a deep, well balanced flavor with a very nice texture. I'm keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States