Maria's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Very tasty. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
So many times it's hard to find a review where someone reviews the recipe exactly AS WRITTEN. Well, I made it exactly as written and it was great! It was easy to make and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This rice is so good and really easy to make. I didn't change anything. I've made this a few times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made the rice exactly as in the recipe. The only thing that got changed is that I did not have tomato sauce. Instead I used 1/2 can of Campbell's tomato soup that was in the fridge dying to have a purpose. We all loved the rice. Went great with our chili con carne, tortillas and nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Look no further for an authentic Mexican rice recipe, this is it. My mother ran a very successful Mexican restaurant with my aunt in chihuahua Mexico for many years before marrying my dad and this is the recipe she uses to this day. I have never had a better tasting rice in any wannabe Mexican restaurant here in the states. She adjusted the recipe for my brothers who won't eat onions without loosing flavor. Instead of sautéing the onions, she blends it with a clove of garlic and a quarter cup of water and adds it along with the water. This eliminates the use of garlic powder and uses the healthier option of real garlic. If you are out of tomato sauce, you can also blend a fresh tomato to the onion and garlic mixture. We never add pepper and cumin though, the chicken bullion and salt should be plenty of flavor. Taste the broth once all the liquid an spice has been added to the fried rice before it is absorbed, this will be a great time to taste test for flavor, if any is needed add more, if it has too much, add more water. A can of mixed veggies can also be added at this point, we always use peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
since this was my first time making Mexican rice, I'd say it was a success. i only made a few minor changes including leaving out the water and adding more bouillon which was beef instead of chicken. can't wait for dinner tonight. we're having chicken and rice burritos with horchata!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Excellent recipe. I have tried many different Mexican rice recipes and this is the one I will make again. I did leave out the salt as I figured the Better than Bouillon tablespoon had enough sodium for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Really yummy! Left out the onion and pepper due to personal taste and added some peas and corn. Simple and delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a fantastic rice! I went with my instincts and doubled the cumin and halved the salt. It would have been far too salty for us and our toddler especially. The bouillon provides plenty of salt. Skipped the serrano since I hadn't realized mine were no longer fresh enough. With these changes, I think this is the new go-to Mexi-rice recipe for our house! I'll have to try it with the chile next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I'm surprised there aren't more people who found their rice to be as salty as it was for me (maybe I measured incorrectly??). Could have done without the salt. I will try this again with less or no salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States