Maria's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
My husband made this the first time and we absolutely love it. We use thighs instead of breasts. We think it gives it more flavor. We made this while camping with family and now whole family wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This was excellent, but it's not chicken and dumplings. It's chicken and biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe. I did not add the pasta and let it cook down. To save it for leftovers I only added half the dumplings (biscuits). When we warmed it up a few days later I added the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was good ! I used a one pan method... I cubed skinless chicken breasts and sauteed it in large oven safe saute pan, took them out when almost cooked through. In the same pan I sauteed cubed potatoes, carrots, celery, onions, and 2 minced cloves of garlic, when vegetables are almost tender I added in 1 can butter beans and the 2 cans of soups plus 2 cups of water or you can use low sodium chicken broth. Simmered it all together until everything is tender, and topped with refrigerated biscuits and simmered for another 7-8 minutes. I put the whole thing in the oven to broil until gloden brown and a little crispy on top of the biscuits. It was sensational !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Nice EASY recipe to follow; makes a great meal for a large family. You can pretty much add what ever you want like, peas, carrots, onions.....cant go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Very tasty, I omitted the noodles and made fresh biscut dough instead. The cream of chicken soup was a very easy option, and tasted great! My husband loved it, and I'm sure I will make it again. Thanks for an easy and tastey recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIXIERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I think this is a great base recipe. It was a bit bland. We added salt and pepper and it helped but was still missing something. I'm going to try boiling the chicken with chicken broth next time and see if it gives it the flavor I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I have to admit that I only used this as a guideline, I left out the potatoes and the pasta, but the cream soups added a wonderful flavor, and made this super easy. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was tasty, but I did add quite a bit of spice. A good base recipe, but it does need a few added veggies and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was pretty good, a bit bland, but I did have to add a lot of liquid so that might have something to do with it. My toddler ate enthusiactically so I can't complain, but I think I will try a different recipe next time I'm in the mood for dumplings. I am keeping this one on file, though; with a little personalization it could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States