Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My grandparents and parents made this as well. They (grandparents) came here from Italy. Trim the stem and pull leaves apart or break into large pieces. Wash thoroughly. Soften the garlic in olive oil in a stock pot. Then alternate layers of the greens, salt & pepper in the pot. Stir until they are all covered in garlic and olive oil. Add enough water to just cover the greens and simmer. Depending on how well done you like it-crisp tender or soft cook 15-30 minutes. A variation for flavor would be to brown some bacon in the pot first, keep about 1TBs of grease, add a little olive oil, sautee the garlic then add the greens. You also can make it 'soupier' adding more water, or by adding a can of Cannelini beans with the juice of the beans for flavor. Top with grated parm.. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good, but too oily. I decreased the oil, increased the garlic, and added red bell pepper for both flavor and color. Loved that addition. I'd give this after my tweaking to my taste a 5 star. The cooking method worked great for me, no bitterness. This will be a regular side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe was great!! I love broccoli rabe and this recipe definitely satisfied my cravings :) Couple of things though. Next time I will boil it for 3-4 minutes instead of 5 as it was on the soft side... I used less oil than the recipe called for, about 1-2 tablespoons and this was enough. I think if I would I used 5 tablespoons, it would have been too oily. Overall fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaVeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Made this with regular broccoli (because we can't get many veggies here) and it was excellent. Increased the garlic, decreased the oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I always wanted to try broccoli rabe but wasn't sure how to make it until this recipe! I've made this twice so far and we love it! I use a shredded 4 cheese from tops (Parm, Romano, Asiago & Fontina) to top off this great side dish. I will definitely make this again :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Silly me! I don't know what "rabe" is. I'm not even sure we have it in TN?? :-)....so I just used regular fresh broccoli. It was DELICIOUS!! My favorite green vege dish! I didn't even use the parm cheese...it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Always boil....but try this try using chicken or vegtable broth about a cup add to water to boil. flavor is great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
First time making Broccoli Rabe. It's good. I like the Parmesan on it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I just made this for pork & broccoli rabe sandwiches and it came out great. For years I have been steaming the broccoli rabe and then would saute it with the garlic, and it would still be pretty bitter. Boiling is definitely the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was my first time preparing broccoli rabe and it was delish! Perfect recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States