Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I did boil this for the bitterness, also when I sauted it I used butter, olive oil and a chicken bullion and in the end used season salt instead of the hot pepper flakes it came out nice and mild, thanks for shareing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made it as is and then taste tested...it was a little bland. I added 2 tbs. of italian bread crumbs, a dash of red pepper flakes, dash of seasoning salt, and a dash of italian seasoning. It was so good I had to have a small appetizer bowl for myself while I was cooking and throw in another batch for my family as I knew it for sure wouldn't be enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chignik Lagoon, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Wonderful and so tasty. Boiling (or simmering) does cut the slight bitterness a bit. I suggest cutting stalks in half and cooking the bottom stems for a bit longer than the tops so that the stalks are tender and the flowers are not overcooked. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is just a nice Italian style way to cook any vegetable. Especially great with string beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lia :o)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I steamed it in the microwave for 4 minutes and then did the rest of the recipe...it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia :o)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Good. I would give it higher ratings, but I had to substitute the main ingredient (the broccoli rabe) with spinach, since my grocer did not carry the broccoli rabe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Loved it! Added more garlic & crushed red pepper...hubby loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I would give this 4.5 stars if I could, because it needs more garlic in my opion. Other than that, it was delicious, I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was quite good. I will agree with previous people and say that the boiling is the key! Also, I would use 2.5 tablespoons of oil next time. 5 is too much. Also I had to add some salt for taste and I added a tablespoon of salted butter as well. Made it taste perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was a pretty quick, easy and tasty way to do broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States