Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as written and we still found it to be very bitter. I had rapini a while back in an Italian restaurant and don't remember it tasting bitter at all. Maybe I'll try boiling it for longer than 5 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe! I made it last night and have been thinking about it all day today (yes, crazy)....I am now going to make this recipe AGAIN tonight! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taby Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pittstown, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Hubby loved this. The kids and I liked it, but rappini is a bit too bitter for us. I didn't want to overcook it, so I only boiled it for about 3-4 minutes until crisp tender, then finished it in the fry pan. Maybe that's why it was a little bitter. I think I prefer regular broccoli to broccoli rabe - but it's all just personal preference. Still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
yum! useful instructions! I add some hot pepper flakes as well for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Excellent. My first experience cooking broccoli rabe. Will not be my last. Followed recipe but used extra garlic, and didn't use cheese (didn't need it!). Thank you Maria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was really good. My two-year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was delicious. It would have been a 5 starer except my kids aren't accustomed to it yet. I only used about 1/2 T oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I couldn't find rabe so I made with regular broccoli, and I also used about 1/4 c. parmesan, this was a good way to do broccoli, will make again. I also topped with more parmesean on the plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I had rapini at a restaurant not long ago and loved it. So I bought some and steamed it at home for dinner. Ugh!! It was so bitter I just about died. Thank goodness for this recipe! After my first failed attempt, I tried again with these tips and it was much, much better. I would say that yes, boiling is the key to getting rid of the bitterness. Next time I might try this with a few drops of lemon juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States