Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This recipe is delicious. Broccoli Rabe is one of my favorite vegetables, and this is my favorite way to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I just finished making this and it is absolutely delicious. I can’t wait to make it again. The only thing I did different was to use 3 cloves of garlic and add a sprinkle of red pepper at the end of cooking. Thanks for real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
awesome stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This was tasty and I'll make it again - but with less oil and maybe half as much time boiling. The boiling seems to remove much of the bitterness from the broccoli rabe, although there's enough bite left that it still tastes like broccoli rabe should taste! However, although the flavor was great, the texture got just a little mushier than I'd like. Also, mine came out a little oily and I would cut down on the oil next time. That said, I really liked this recipe and I will definitely make it again. Thanks for sending it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
YOU HAVE REFORMED ME!! I have always wanted to love broccoli rabe, but have always hated the bitterness when you just saute it. BOILING IS THE SECRET. The bitterness is gone and it is delicious. So nice to have a new healthy veg; I now cook it at least once a week. I also used this method with Broccolini and it, too, helps eliminate the bitterness. I am looking forward to trying this method with Chinese Broccoli from the Asian Market as that too is so bitter and very very similar to rabe. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Fairly easy to make and good flavor. Be careful not to overcook garlic in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This was excellent. Never ate broccoli rabe before and my husband and I gobbled up the whole pound! I used much less oil (2 Tbs) and two cloves of minced garlic. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for introducing me to a new vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This is EXACTLY how broccoli rabe should come out, not bitter, tender and with a hint of garlic. It is also an excellent base, you can add many things to this to make it a meal initself. I love to add sweet italian sausage, white wine, and chicken broth. Of course its fantastic as a sidedish too. Toss with your favorite pasta (I prefer large shells) and you have a hearty pasta dish! The only change I would make is add more garlic! This is the only way I will EVER cook broccoli rabe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Delicious. I omitted the cheese and used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, and increased the garlic to 3 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Super Recipe!! This was my first time making broccoli rabe. I had always bought it from our local Italian specialty shop. This is definately better. I followed the recipe with two small changes. I added red pepper flakes and increased the garlic. Excellent!! Thanks Maria!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States