Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
First of all, remove stems, all you want are the leaves and the flowerettes on the top. Boil in salted water. Remove. You can either saute this with garlic and olive oil, or parboil then finish cooking in broth. Add a can of cannellini beans or dark red kidney beans. Be sure to use fresh garlic. A little onion powder and a bit of salt and pepper and you have a low calorie, very healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I think a quick blanching at a rolling boil for 3 mins. is sufficent to not overcook the rappini. For an asian variation on this dish stir fry as directed and toss lightly with Oyster sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This recipe was enjoyed by my Italian family for many years, except, we serve it over spaghetti. It is also delicious over linguine or cavatelli. If serving over pasta add more garlic and olive oil, otherwise, it may be a little dry. For a little bite, add red pepper flakes. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was very good, but I will probably use less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is a great way to prepare rapini. I put mine in an ice bath to stop the cooking after blanching. The blanching gets rid of a lot of the bitterness. Although it's great by itself, I like it with rigatoni, Italian hot sausage, and drizzled with a quality evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is the BEST way to prepare Broccoli Rabe. Some recipes call for adding a bit of the cooking water...but that makes it very bitter. I usually fry up hot Italian sausage links, then add them to the olive oil, garlic and Rabe....let simmer till done, add the cheese and eat with Italian or French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I husband always wanted to try broccoli rabe, so I'm glad that I came across this recipe. It was delicious, but the kids were not so amused, they refuse to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Fantastic! I added some hot chile flakes to it, as other reviewers have recommended. What a great way to get our greens in! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love veggies, but have never had broccoli rabe. I cannot get it anywhere around where i am from. Is there something that compares in taste that I might be able to substitute?...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is my first time making Broccoli Rabe. It was just delicious. The recipe is easy to follow and was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States