Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
As other reviewers have mentioned. . .DO NOT boil your broccoli rabe. Use a few tablespoons of EVOO and chop up some garlic (the more the better) saute the garlic for two minutes (don't burn the garlic) add in the broccoli rabe until it turns a bright green color. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent--boiling it first honestly does take away the bitterness! Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was very good. I only used approx. 2 tbsp of oil though. I think 5 would be too much. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Perfect follow the recipe you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great recipe. Next time I will cut off a bit more of the "tough" part at the bottom -- a few bites were too hard and stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was my first time both cooking and eating broccoli rabe. It was too bitter for me, but my boyfriend said he didn't mind the bitterness. Overall, not too bad, but maybe next time I'll try boiling it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I read one of the responses to this recipe about not boiling the broccoli rabe. Boiling it is a must. My grandmom was from Italy and made broccoli rabe all the time. She would definitely boil it and the stems are supposed to be soft. Everytime my dad and I eat broccoli rabe somewhere he constantly complains if the stems are hard. It ruins the broccoli rabe. It is usually not a bright green color. It is more of a dark color. Take my advice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
757 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Wonderful recipe! My only addition was a little sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This turned out great! I followed some of the recommendations and only boiled it for 3 minutes. I also added a bit more garlic as well as some salt. My whole family loved it, including the picky seven year old. Our eight year old even asked for seconds! We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
First of all, remove stems, all you want are the leaves and the flowerettes on the top. Boil in salted water. Remove. You can either saute this with garlic and olive oil, or parboil then finish cooking in broth. Add a can of cannellini beans or dark red kidney beans. Be sure to use fresh garlic. A little onion powder and a bit of salt and pepper and you have a low calorie, very healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States