Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I just made this for pork & broccoli rabe sandwiches and it came out great. For years I have been steaming the broccoli rabe and then would saute it with the garlic, and it would still be pretty bitter. Boiling is definitely the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was my first time preparing broccoli rabe and it was delish! Perfect recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I enjoy that the recipe is simple enough to enjoy the natural flavors. I usually reduce the amount of oil used and increase the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I add about a tablespoon of white balsamic vinegar to all my recipes for rabe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iron Skillet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is the best ever way to cook broccoli rabe, my daughter loves them done this way , I also cook homemade sausages and mix them in together . It is absolutely deliciouse with crusty bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Fantastic! I have to admit that this was our first time ever having broccoli rabe and I saw it at the grocery store and decided it was time to give it a try! Prepared just as the recipe states boiling first and then sauteeing. Really enjoyed this although my husband would enjoy the broccoli rabe more so in a dish (ie: with pasta and meat) instead of as a side (he found it somewhat bitter). Served with Lundberg rice (blend of wild & whole grain brown - excellent rice!) and some baked chicken thighs (Kickin' Chicken from Eat Shrink & Be Merry)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I loved this recipe...mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
As other reviewers have mentioned. . .DO NOT boil your broccoli rabe. Use a few tablespoons of EVOO and chop up some garlic (the more the better) saute the garlic for two minutes (don't burn the garlic) add in the broccoli rabe until it turns a bright green color. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent--boiling it first honestly does take away the bitterness! Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was very good. I only used approx. 2 tbsp of oil though. I think 5 would be too much. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States