Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good. I did cut down the oil somewhat as a personal preference. One benefit to this cooking method, I was able to simmer the vegetable in an early stage of preparing a meal, shock it in cold water to stop the cooking, then hold it while I prepared other items, and sautee it just before service. Having read other reviews, I do have a few tips. Broccoli Rabe aka rapini is located with other cooking greens at my grocer, not with the broccoli and cauliflower. Look for perky leaves and few florets. Florets should not be yellowing. Also, bitterness compliments richness... I served this side dish along homemade fettucine alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
OK for one more to try I double the broccoli use whole bulb of garlic [I love garlic] Took off only extra large stems [only because I never tried before] placed broccoli rabe in water only until bright green saute' garlic in oil cooked it until also tender. It was amazing and not bitter ,very few flowers in them. I was suppose to freeze some but never made it finished it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I didn't boil the Broccoli Rabe before adding it to the garlic and olive oil. I just simmered the whole concoction for about 15/20 minutes. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is delicious! I use a lot of garlic and I add crushed red pepper, season with salt and pepper. We made this for a roast pork sandwich with provolone cheese and Italian long hot peppers. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I am a huge broccoli Rabe fan!! I have aways just sauted it a bit and add just a little water to get it cooked. The bitterness never really bothered me or for that matter, crossed my mind or taste buds. I figured that was the way it was supposed to taste. The flavor is Fabulous!! It can be hard to find but when I do, I grab a couple bunches,cook it all up and freeze asmall portions of it for later dinners. I do the same with collard greens. If you haven't tried this spring time veggy, you Must. It is very good, it's better with some bacon sprinkled in it too. LOL Thank you Maria, I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is the first time I cooked broccoli rabe and I wanted a very simple and easy to follow recipe. I truly enjoyed the dish and will definately cook it for my family again. I boiled the rabe. Good move
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Add another voice that says you must either blanch or lightly boil broccoli rabe (a.k.a. Rapini). I like bitterness, but unblanched this vegetable is simply too bitter. An Italian friend told me the secret and now I love to have this vegetable from time to time. This recipe was perfect with my Chicken Cacciatore! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was pretty good. It definitely needed salt and pepper. Next time I will double the amount of garlic and skip the first step of boiling the broccoli, it came out too soft for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
i've boiled it, sauted it, microwaved it, added lemon, salt, pepper, honey, cross cut the stems, added parm cheese and the only way to get the bitterness out is to use another vegetable. This stuff cannot be made without the inedible bitterness. Chinese broccoli is totally different. Par boil Chinese broccoli first, stir fry it or saute it and it is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was very good and my first attempt at broccoli rabe. I think maybe my husband over cooked the rabe but the flavor was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States