Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe without making any changes and really liked it!! This recipe will now substitute my own Broccoli Rabe version. I found the garlic and the parmesan cheese to give it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I don't know why everyone is changing the recipe. It taste perfect just the way it is. If I'm in the mood then I'll add some cayenne pepper but otherwise I leave as is. Good job Maria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Easy and excellent. Made exactly as directed. If there's a more underrated vegetable broccoli rate, I don't know what it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zudok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
this was very mushy and didn't have any taste. I followed the directions exactly and was not impressed. I was so hoping to have a delicious and healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've never made Broccoli Rabe before, and followed this recipe. It was a huge hit in my home, and I'll definitly make it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie
Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I boiled in chicken broth instead of water, then prepared as recipe states, and it came out very good! Definitely a good "go-to" method for broccolini, and more than likely for any other bitter green too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Love it. I have had a package of it in fridge for 2 weeks and didn't know how to cook it. I did it exactly as you indicated and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good. I did cut down the oil somewhat as a personal preference. One benefit to this cooking method, I was able to simmer the vegetable in an early stage of preparing a meal, shock it in cold water to stop the cooking, then hold it while I prepared other items, and sautee it just before service. Having read other reviews, I do have a few tips. Broccoli Rabe aka rapini is located with other cooking greens at my grocer, not with the broccoli and cauliflower. Look for perky leaves and few florets. Florets should not be yellowing. Also, bitterness compliments richness... I served this side dish along homemade fettucine alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
OK for one more to try I double the broccoli use whole bulb of garlic [I love garlic] Took off only extra large stems [only because I never tried before] placed broccoli rabe in water only until bright green saute' garlic in oil cooked it until also tender. It was amazing and not bitter ,very few flowers in them. I was suppose to freeze some but never made it finished it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I didn't boil the Broccoli Rabe before adding it to the garlic and olive oil. I just simmered the whole concoction for about 15/20 minutes. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States