Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
The best Rabe is quickly sauteed in very little olive oil first to bring out all the color. Then add 2 tablespoons of water for a 2 minutes and cover. Do not overcook, watch it. At the end add a couple pinches of sugar to counter act the bitterness of the Rabe and a little salt, pepper, and vinegar....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I've been making this Italian recipe for years, just like my mom and my grandma always did. Simple but so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lady Z
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was the first time I tried making Broccoli Rabe, and it was delicious. All my guests were raving! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Z

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
My mother added olive oil to about an inch or less of water salted to taste. She cut off the tough thicker stems and added the clean broccoli rabe and plenty of chopped garlic to the boiling water, covered the pot, stirring as needed. Allow greens to cook down to that lovely green color which is just about tender or to desired tenderness. Delicious! No frying in oil needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is a very good recipe. The only thing I changed was this: I cut the stems off the heads, about mid-way. I added the stems to the water and boiled for 5 minutes...I then added the heads and boiled for another five minutes. This allows the stems to soften and makes the dish MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My grandparents and parents made this as well. They (grandparents) came here from Italy. Trim the stem and pull leaves apart or break into large pieces. Wash thoroughly. Soften the garlic in olive oil in a stock pot. Then alternate layers of the greens, salt & pepper in the pot. Stir until they are all covered in garlic and olive oil. Add enough water to just cover the greens and simmer. Depending on how well done you like it-crisp tender or soft cook 15-30 minutes. A variation for flavor would be to brown some bacon in the pot first, keep about 1TBs of grease, add a little olive oil, sautee the garlic then add the greens. You also can make it 'soupier' adding more water, or by adding a can of Cannelini beans with the juice of the beans for flavor. Top with grated parm.. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good, but too oily. I decreased the oil, increased the garlic, and added red bell pepper for both flavor and color. Loved that addition. I'd give this after my tweaking to my taste a 5 star. The cooking method worked great for me, no bitterness. This will be a regular side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe was great!! I love broccoli rabe and this recipe definitely satisfied my cravings :) Couple of things though. Next time I will boil it for 3-4 minutes instead of 5 as it was on the soft side... I used less oil than the recipe called for, about 1-2 tablespoons and this was enough. I think if I would I used 5 tablespoons, it would have been too oily. Overall fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaVeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Made this with regular broccoli (because we can't get many veggies here) and it was excellent. Increased the garlic, decreased the oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I always wanted to try broccoli rabe but wasn't sure how to make it until this recipe! I've made this twice so far and we love it! I use a shredded 4 cheese from tops (Parm, Romano, Asiago & Fontina) to top off this great side dish. I will definitely make this again :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States