Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was a pretty quick, easy and tasty way to do broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
With my notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The best tasting boccolli I have ever made. Full of favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I have no idea broccoli rabe was so bitter. I followed the recipe exactly and it was so bitter that my wife and I couldn't eat it. I boiled the rabe for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
We were introduced to this veg. years ago in Europe but it does need careful cooking and either boiling or steaming it first is a must. This is a good recipe just a little too much Olive oil. Also, cooking in chicken broth enhances the flavor. If not using broth you need to use a pinch of salt to combat the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Broccoli rabe is an acquired taste, even for native Italians (my dad is from Naples and mom is from Trieste - neither of whom would touch the stuff until I cooked it my way). The recipe submitted is basic but can be enhanced this way. Trim the ends of the stems. Bring a large pot or saucepan filled with salted water to a boil. Immerse the BR and cook for no more than 8 minutes. Drain immediately, flash chill and then spread on cookie sheet to continue cool down. The BR will be bright green yet tender. Cut the BR into bite size pieces. Saute some garlic to taste and a few hot pepper flakes in olive oil - about 3 tbsp. should do it. Then add BR, toss to coat and remove from heat when warmed through; you don't want to lose that beautiful bright green color. Place on a serving plate, top with a squirt of lemon juice and maybe some homemade toasted breadcrumbs. Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Broccoli rabe is a bitter green and is an acquired taste for some. Adding a pinch or two of salt when sauteing with the garlic will balance the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I prepared according to recipe, as I have never cooked Broccoli Rabe before. It was very bitter, and mushy. I don't know if it was the quality of the rabe, or if that is what is supposed to taste like. I was dissapointed, as I thought it would be much better for the price it sells for in the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I'd never cooked broccoli rabe before...since I love all veggies, I thought I'd like it, but it was terribly bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is my favorite recipie I've tried lately, and it was a big hit with my in-laws! Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States