Maria's Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is a great way to prepare rapini. I put mine in an ice bath to stop the cooking after blanching. The blanching gets rid of a lot of the bitterness. Although it's great by itself, I like it with rigatoni, Italian hot sausage, and drizzled with a quality evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is the BEST way to prepare Broccoli Rabe. Some recipes call for adding a bit of the cooking water...but that makes it very bitter. I usually fry up hot Italian sausage links, then add them to the olive oil, garlic and Rabe....let simmer till done, add the cheese and eat with Italian or French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I husband always wanted to try broccoli rabe, so I'm glad that I came across this recipe. It was delicious, but the kids were not so amused, they refuse to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Fantastic! I added some hot chile flakes to it, as other reviewers have recommended. What a great way to get our greens in! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love veggies, but have never had broccoli rabe. I cannot get it anywhere around where i am from. Is there something that compares in taste that I might be able to substitute?...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is my first time making Broccoli Rabe. It was just delicious. The recipe is easy to follow and was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was the first time I've cooked or eaten broccoli rabe. My children didn't like it because it was 'greens' but I thought it was great. Something new to add to my diet. Always looking for new things, especially if they are healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot, but there was still a little bitterness to it. The flavor is great even with the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was a hundred times better than I thought it would be! We'd had this at our favorite Marble Falls restaurant, Cafe 909, and still remember it four years later. So when I saw it fresh in the store I picked some up in hopes to make something similar. This was above and beyond my expectations! I can't wait to make more. Updated: Made more. Still just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I've been making this recipe for a long time and I am addicted! I started making this dish as a meal instead of a side dish. I add extra galic because we love garlic! I also add a few pinches of hot pepper flakes to spice it up. When the rapini is cooked, I toss in some pasta or cheese filled tortellini. I comes out a little dry because there is no sauce, so I add more olive oil and throw in 2 or 3 diced fresh tomatoes. Comes out great! If I could eat this every day, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCravings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States