Marian's Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
We do not recommend this recipe. The proportions are incorrect as it is a very thin broth, not a creamy squash type of soup. Try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly's Kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Followed this recipe precisely and love the spicy rich flavor. The thin consistency was lovely as is. The pumpkin I bought weighed about five pounds at the grocery store and was just slightly more two and a half pounds when I had it cubed and ready. I served with and without cilantro. Being a huge fan of cilantro, I somehow preferred it without it. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Good but used 3 large garlic cloves, red onion and canned pumpkin. 1 teas. curry powder, 8 cups of chicken broth (was low sodium so added sea salt to taste), 3 tbl. peanut butter, 1 can evaporated milk and some chili paste for red pepper flakes and pepper. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreen K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good soup. Followed other recommendations and reduced broth to 2 cups, increased cream to 1 can evaporated milk, and doubled peanut butter to 2 tbsp. Also switched a can of pumpkin for 2 1/2 pounds listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I loved this soup! I had my own pumpkin puree on hand and scaled this recipe down for just 5 people. I used 2 cups of pumpkin puree, 3 cups of boiling water and 4 bullion cubes in place of chicken broth and replaced the nutmeg with allspice (my own preference). Use as much peanut butter as you like. This recipe lends itself well to improvisation. I whipped this up in about 15 minutes for a delicious rainy-day soup. Talk about comfort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I think this was a great main dish, but I could tell that the 10 cups pf chicken broth was going to turn the results into a super thin soup. I subbed for 6 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of half and half. Delish, but will try next time with heavy cream and canned pumpkin (peeling two pumpkins was exhausting!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I followed instructions exactly and soup came out far too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I liked this recipe...I had something very specific in mind so I made a few modifications :) I was making it with my five-year-old bundle of joy so we made some kid friendly changes, and I was looking for a replication of a peanutty pumpkin soup I'd had years ago. I started with dried minced onions and jarred minced garlic, added the broth, and then a can of pumpkin puree. We let that get all happy, then added WAY more peanut butter than the recipe called for...more like 1/2 a cup. We omitted the red pepper flakes but did add some tabasco. We also used evaporated milk in place of the cream, and topped them with home made croutons...we cubed up some whole wheat bread, sprinkled on some olive oil, cinnamon, and sugar, and toasted them in the oven for a little bit. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Something is not quite right with this soup, which resembles another recipe I prefer for Squash Soup. It could be my fault, for using organic low sodium chicken broth, because it needed some salt to offset the sweetness. I have never added salt to a recipe from this website. I also felt that it could have done without the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This recipe was so fun to make. I tried it once by the book, and once substituting in half and half and veggie broth and both times it came out great. When I make this for kids I cut back on the onion and blend this on high for a super cramy texture. They love the peanut butter! five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States