Marian's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I've made this recipe many times now, and the flavor is always amazing. However, mine always comes out with a slightly gritty texture. Anyone have thoughts as to what I'm doing wrong? I'm sure it's me and not the recipe, as sometimes it's smoother than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
great recipe. First time making fudge, managed without the candy thermometer. Make sure you have the time to stand at the stove and mix - note that the cooking time is 30 mins. I was looking for a recipe without marshmallow creme, and this did the trick! Next time i would double the recipe to fit a 9x9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This fudge isn't your ordinary type of fudge but is VERY delicious!!!My husband ate most of the dish by himself. It didn't even last 24 hours in our home. I added pecans to this recipe and was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
My moms's name is Marian. She used to make fudge every Christmas. She passed away and I was thinking about making fudge this Christmas to keep the tradition going...the first area I serch for fudge and what do I see? Marian's fudge. That brought tears to my eyes. I will make this recipe...thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This recipe set REALLY fast once I started beating it. It stilled looked glossy to me, but I would recommend as soon as it starts to thicken you pour it into your pan. As far as taste and texture go, they weren't bad. Maybe if I had poured the fudge sooner the texture would have been improved. Overall, not bad, but not amazing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
this recipe is great! the fudge tastes so rich and the few times I have made it I have made a few mistakes and it still turned out delicious! I'm sure if you're entering a fudge-making competition, then you do need to follow the recipe to the letter... but as far as my experience goes, just follow instinct and it works perfectly! Why spend the time making short-cut fudge with unnatural ingredients (marshmallow stuff - ew!) when this is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiliLysol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Luton, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I didn't have unsweetened chocolate at home but wanted to try this so I had a 3 oz bar of 70% cocoa and used that and followed the rest of the directions exactly. This is beautiful fudge and a 9x9 pan is too big but I made do and will double the recipe next time. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
this is almost like my great grandmothers recipe, and i didnt have it on hand, so i used this recipe, the only big difference is before you beat the fudge, add a heaping spoon of peanut butter with the vanilla, is doesnt have a really strong peanut butter flavor but it still super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I liked the taste but the fudge turned out grainy even though I followed the directions. Okay this time I made the fudge and let it cool for like 45 minutes for it to get to 110 degrees F then I stirred it for 5 minutes maybe a bit too long but this time the fudge consitancy was much better and when I tryed some it melted in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was my first time making fudge, and this fudge was absolutely delicious, although my roommate said they were a little sweet. So to cut the sweetness, I made some allrecipes peanut butter frosting (posted by Susanne Stull). It complemented the chocolate perfectly, and my roommate now has a new favourite dessert. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States