Marian's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe is not for the Novice cook or the impatient cook. If you are looking for a quick, easy recipe, then try one of the fudge recipes using marshmallow creme. With that being said, I decided I was going to step up my fudge game, and try one of the "old fashioned" fudge recipes (which this is). The keys to this recipe are patience, having everything ready before you start, and a candy thermometer (sorry, I don't have a lot of faith in the cold water test). With that being said, this recipe was excellent!!!! If you follow the directions to the "T" (I waited until my candy thermometer registered 240) this recipe will turn out as promised. I did add chopped walnuts to the recipe (I like my fudge with nuts) and the fudge was wonderful, just like grandma used to make. Also, you can't substitute Splenda or any other artificial sweetener - if you're going to do this one, leave the fat/calories intact (and trust me, I'm not the advocate for leaving those intact). Also, if you use a deep saucepan/pot, it will keep the mixture from boiling over. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
DOES NOT MAKE A 9x9 PAN! The taste is incredible however. The reason why everybody else's didn't turn out is probably because they didn't have a candy thermometer. Some people don't realize how handy these are. Candy is very tricky and requires a lot of patients. One hint: after it has reached 240*, don't let it sit for 10 min, beat it immediately following with a mixer just until it is slightly thickening than pour it into the pan. I added marshmallows into mine. they just swirled into marble fudge. they were awesome. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Easy-on-hand ingredients, and VERY GOOD! Some tips: follow recipe exactly, use whole milk, cook milk/butter/chocolate on med high instead, and use candy thermometer to reach 234 degrees. Also, expect to beat the fudge 6-7 minutes by hand for it to lose its gloss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This would have been the perfect fudge if I had just stuck to the recipe. DON'T USE SOY OR RICE MILK!!! It would not set but became a gritty yet delicous slop. Chocolate and water DO NOT mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
My first attempt at making fudge is a success! This recipe is an easy way to fix a chocolate craving. This submission will certainly go into my recipe box. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good fudge recipe. I found that by raising and lowering the gas between 3 and 5 (out of 9 markers )and back again helped to avoid the mixture burning. Boil and mix for around 5 minutes. I don't use candy thermometers but if you find the cold water test not working, try just pouring a drop on to a cold work surface. after 1/2 a minute or so it should be softly set. (careful it may be hot.) When the mixture is ready to take off the heat you will find that the candy mass has thickened and reduced in quantity. Another tip is not to beat too long to get the shine out or it will begin to crystalise and taste more grainy. Thanks for a good recipe and all your tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
On my quest for the best fudge recipe I decided to try this one. I am new to candy making so I tried to follow the recipe as closely as possible. The one hitch I ran in to was that as I cooked the mixture on medium, the candy thermometer seemed stuck at about 200 degrees. After about 8 minutes I incresed the heat to medium high (number 7 on my stove) and eventually I hit the requested 235 degrees. The fudge is very tasty and I love the texture, and there is either a nutty or a slightly burnt taste to the fudge... I can't decide which. My question for any fudge experts out there is this... should I have just waited (and left the stove set at 5) and the temperature would eventually rise to 235 or was I to increase the temperature once the sugar was added and dissolved and hit 235 as quickly as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I thought this was very tasty,I follewed the steps to a T.Only one bad part about it(I didnt share it with anyone)It was too yummy!Hey that gives me a chance to make it again for the family!Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Great recipe! All ingredients are basic enough to be found in any kitchen without special trips to the grocery store. If it doesn't set it's because it wasn't cooked long enough or you missed adding something or measured incorrectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This is the BEST!!! Fudge I have tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States