Marian's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I am just no good at making fudge........One BIG step that was left out. Make sure you have NO distractions. Between a crying baby and the UPS man. My fudge turned out lousy. It was all my fault. It was looking great and I was beating the gloss out when the UPS man can and I had to talk to him. When I came back it was a dull sugary mess. I tried to smush it together again but that didn't work. I think from now on I will stick to buying my fudge.........I mean it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe is not for the Novice cook or the impatient cook. If you are looking for a quick, easy recipe, then try one of the fudge recipes using marshmallow creme. With that being said, I decided I was going to step up my fudge game, and try one of the "old fashioned" fudge recipes (which this is). The keys to this recipe are patience, having everything ready before you start, and a candy thermometer (sorry, I don't have a lot of faith in the cold water test). With that being said, this recipe was excellent!!!! If you follow the directions to the "T" (I waited until my candy thermometer registered 240) this recipe will turn out as promised. I did add chopped walnuts to the recipe (I like my fudge with nuts) and the fudge was wonderful, just like grandma used to make. Also, you can't substitute Splenda or any other artificial sweetener - if you're going to do this one, leave the fat/calories intact (and trust me, I'm not the advocate for leaving those intact). Also, if you use a deep saucepan/pot, it will keep the mixture from boiling over. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
did not set! was very disappointed. as previous reveiwers said, it probably wasn't hot enough, but it kept boiling over. As i have never been sucessful with fuge, i guess this isn't my thing. Maybe i will invest in a thermometer. Also i found this wasn't very chocolatly. I added twice as much as said, and still, strange looking goop that only faintly tasted of chocolate. Hope everyone else has more sucess than me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuiannanz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I learned a valuable lesson--baking Splenda and fudge do not a good batch of fudge make! Guess it's high calorie or no fudge! Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This made very yummy hot fudge sauce. I tried it first with taking the advice of another reviewer and beating the fudge right away to remove the gloss. The gloss never got removed. I have a candy thermometer, so I was careful with the temperature. Not one to give up easily, I tried again but this time let it cool before beating to remove gloss. Recipe says 10 minutes, but tips for great fudge said to wait until fudge was 110 degrees before mixing - this was a lot longer than 10 minutes to cool. Tried that and mixed - still glossiness wasn't removed. All attempts made a very yummy goo. I think I'll stick with the condensed milk recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
On my quest for the best fudge recipe I decided to try this one. I am new to candy making so I tried to follow the recipe as closely as possible. The one hitch I ran in to was that as I cooked the mixture on medium, the candy thermometer seemed stuck at about 200 degrees. After about 8 minutes I incresed the heat to medium high (number 7 on my stove) and eventually I hit the requested 235 degrees. The fudge is very tasty and I love the texture, and there is either a nutty or a slightly burnt taste to the fudge... I can't decide which. My question for any fudge experts out there is this... should I have just waited (and left the stove set at 5) and the temperature would eventually rise to 235 or was I to increase the temperature once the sugar was added and dissolved and hit 235 as quickly as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
DOES NOT MAKE A 9x9 PAN! The taste is incredible however. The reason why everybody else's didn't turn out is probably because they didn't have a candy thermometer. Some people don't realize how handy these are. Candy is very tricky and requires a lot of patients. One hint: after it has reached 240*, don't let it sit for 10 min, beat it immediately following with a mixer just until it is slightly thickening than pour it into the pan. I added marshmallows into mine. they just swirled into marble fudge. they were awesome. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Easy-on-hand ingredients, and VERY GOOD! Some tips: follow recipe exactly, use whole milk, cook milk/butter/chocolate on med high instead, and use candy thermometer to reach 234 degrees. Also, expect to beat the fudge 6-7 minutes by hand for it to lose its gloss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Didn't care for this fudge. I was looking for a recipe that made a smaller batch than the marshmellow cream fudge but this isn't it. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This recipe took like 4 hours to set and was gritty. I would NEVER try this one again, it makes me wish I hadn't lost me regular recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States