Marian's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Fantastic i have never made fudge before and this is wonderful.. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I'm not good at fudge and I can ruin a batch of the simplest fudge from the clearest recipe. This one, however, was perfect. Easy, yummy, smooth, and a minimum of ingredients. Yeah, took a while standing over it stirring, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Before making old fashioned fudge, you need to be aware of a few things. You need time to make it. Don't like spending much time on something? Try the marshmallow variety. Believe it or not, the actual day you choose to make old time fudge is important too. On a nice clear day with relatively high barometric pressure is actually the most ideal day to make fudge. My family has found that if we tried to make it on a dreary, rainy day, it would never set. Fudge is rather tempermental about the weather. THe next thing you want to do is always remember to follow directions exactly. TIP: if your fudge did not set, add 1/4 cup of milk and heat again to firm ball stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Delicious, easy, and tastes just like grandma used to make! All the stirring is worth it -- if you want real, old-fashioned fudge, don't use shortcuts like marshmallow fluff and condensed milk. And since this is an old-fashioned recipe, definitely use old-fashioned ingredients ... whole milk and real butter are a necessity. A 9x9 pan does make for some thin fudge here, but considering the amount of sugar, butter and whole milk in this stuff, I wouldn't want it too deep-dish -- a small piece is all it takes to give yourself a sugar rush! Still, if you like big cubes of fudge instead of small pieces, you may wish to use a smaller pan. I used about 2/3rds white sugar to 1/3rd brown, just because I didn't have enough white sugar in the house and it was 11pm. It worked out just fine despite the substitution, and I'm glad that I was able to cut some of the refined sugar out (I prefer brown for most applications).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good fudge recipe. I found that by raising and lowering the gas between 3 and 5 (out of 9 markers )and back again helped to avoid the mixture burning. Boil and mix for around 5 minutes. I don't use candy thermometers but if you find the cold water test not working, try just pouring a drop on to a cold work surface. after 1/2 a minute or so it should be softly set. (careful it may be hot.) When the mixture is ready to take off the heat you will find that the candy mass has thickened and reduced in quantity. Another tip is not to beat too long to get the shine out or it will begin to crystalise and taste more grainy. Thanks for a good recipe and all your tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Although this was an easy recipe to follow and make, I found that the fudge was way too thin and I didn't care for using the unsweetened chocolate squares. If I were to make this recipe again I would use milk chocolate and put it into a bread pan to make denser pieces of fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this fudge yesterday. It was awesome, the only problem I had with it was that I didn't keep the heat on medium for melting the chocolate, milk and butter together. It still turned out awesome! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My first attempt at this failed. I was afraid to turn up the stove. Try#2 was a success! Use whole milk. I used stove setting of 4 (scale of 1-9) to boil milk. Boil a FULL minute. Once sugar is added, stove setting of 5 to 5 and 1/2 is required. Beat for 6-7 minutes and more if you double it. Use an electric beater to make it easier. Adding walnuts right before pouring into pan made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Not for inexperienced candy-makers. These instructions are not accurate. I heated this to 236-degrees (right between 234-240, as instructed) and the texture was awful. After consulting other sources, I found out that the fudge stage is 240-degrees, not 234-240. Can't comment on flavor, because my batch had to be throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Just like the fudge I ate as a kid. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States