Margo's Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe! After making it 3 or 4 times, I made the following mods: Used boneless/skinless thighs; added some diced carrot to try and take a little of the bitterness of the vinegar away; used half soy, half teriyaki instead of all soy; added a sprinkle of sugar. This is going in the regular rotation. While my version probably isn't technically adobo, it is really delicious served over sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I made it with the ingredients listed, but I cooked it in a slow cooker. The kids like it. The sauce is a little strong with the vinegar. We eat the chicken with rice and just a little bit of sauce. Will probably make again because we kind of like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Great tasting chicken recipe!!! My PICKY 4 year old son loved it with steamed rice. The sauce is amazing!!!! Followed the recipe just put about 1/4 cup of water more for some of my rice :) omg one of the best and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this in the slow cooker so the chicken was very moist and tender. We weren't crazy about the flavor of this though. I've never made adobo before so nothing to really compare it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Each time I made a form of chicken adobo mine would come out too sour or too salty. This recipe was just right. I did tweak the recipe to make less. Also I used skinless boneless chicken breast. I was afraid it would have become a little sour so i did put more water, but I don't think that was needed. Although this recipe does not taste close to my moms, I find it pretty decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I personally thought it had a bit too much vinegar. I think it would be better in I cut out some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Fantastic recipe...5 stars all the way around for ease of preparation and taste...great recipe! Thanks so much for submitting this gem!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! A wonderful combination of flavors to tickle the taste buds of even the most finicky eaters. Easy to make, and although I didn't quite have a full cup of soy sauce on-hand, the chicken tasted out of this world. I did pierce the meat prior to browning and again while it was resting so it would absorb the maximum sauce in the slow cooker. Honestly, this is such a crowd pleaser! Thanks so much, Margo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was my first attempt making chicken adobo and it turned out wonderfully. I really appreciate how easy it was to make and with so few ingredients(pantry staples, no less!). I didn't have a cinnamin stick so I used some of the ground stuff. I would recommend this recipe to a beginner or someone like me who has never made adobo before. Thanks so much Margo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I tried this last night. The flavor is awesome but the sauce was a bit watery. I am going to add some cornstarch & water in order to make it a bit more gravy like & stick. Next time I make this I will make it with boneless chicken breasts b/c the meat I got off of the the thighs & drumsticks wasn't very filling for me. Great flavor though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States