Margie's Sour Cream Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
We tried this recipe this weekend and didn't care for the taste of the sauce with the vinegar in it. the chops were really tender, though, and next time we will tweak it a bit and use a mixture of sauteed mushrooms and onions with a bit of garlic and omit the vinegar. I guess I'll have to call it Margaret's Sour Cream Port Chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Kamen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I've made dozens of recipes from this sight...but this was really bad! I'm sorry...I'm a pretty decent cook but this was just AWFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Sorry, really wanted to like this but just could not get around the vinegar/sugar taste, they just overwhelmed the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
My family of four did not care for this dish. I was worried about the reviews of the sauce being too thin, so I added about a tablespoon of flour to the sauce mix. The consistency of the sauce came out perfect thanks to the flour tip! The pork chops also came out very tender. The flavor of the sauce was not good. I did not have summer savory, so I substituted thyme as another reviewer suggested. I would not recommend using thyme. It did not match well with the sweet/tangy flavor. Also, I only used 4 tablespoons of vinegar, and it still was to vinegary. So disappointed. It looked so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
After a few bites I just could not stand the flavor. I could see my son was picking at his!!lol So I told him I really could not finish my chops. He looked at me and said "Dad I like them with the cream of mushroom soup you make. These taste funny."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe three times and each time the sauce has been thin and tasteless no matter how long I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I tried this recipe last night. It was good, but I think next time I will leave the sugar out. I love how moist & tender the chops turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The sauce looks watery and tastes strange when first added to the meat, but it cooks down to be rather thick and especially good, an almost unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I doubled the recipe and substituted poultry seasoning for the summer savory and apple cider vinegar for the regular. Not successful. The chops were very tender, but the sauce had a very odd consistency. Flavor of sauce was okay, but not great. I'll try it again without substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I followed the recipe as instructed, only substituting thyme for the summer savory. I have to say, it was mediocre. The sauce was very runny. And I don't know what it is, but I can NOT get pork chops to be tender. That is why I tried this recipe. But they were still somewhat tough. Oh well, they did have a nice flavor, and my husband seemed to enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Bielecki Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States