Margie's Cuban Sofrito (Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is a great sauce to add to various dishes. Made mine a few days ahead of the stew I was planning to make to give the sauce time for the flavors to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
What have I been missing?! This sauce is incredibly vibrant. It's going to be a new staple in my refrigerator. I put some sofrito in boring old chicken salad sandwiches, and WOW. I'm adding it to the beans and rice I'm going to serve to company tonight. I know already it's going to be a hit. This recipe is certainly a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was awesome - the key to tasty rice and beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Made this sauce without ever even having tasted it before, it was really very good. I used it in a Cuban Stew recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is wonderful on everything we've eaten it with so far. A strong tomato flavor. Mine never made a "green paste" as referenced in the directions while cooking, it was starting to get dark and caramel colored and still really chunky. (no one else has mentioned this?) ...anyway, I went ahead and followed the directions. I did cook mine a lot longer than the given time adding water as needed...This stuff is amazing! I used it to top steamed calrose "sticky rice" and beans. Also used some of this to top fivebrig's Carne Guisada. Delicious for dipping tortilla chips in too! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is an excellent sauce for many different recipes. I make it exactly like the recipe calls for, but at the end I sometimes put it in the blender to make a smoother sauce. It's great for shredded chicken or beef. Excellent recipe! Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Thanks Margie. This recipe is delicious and tasty. My brother who has never tried cuban food tried it over some meat and black beans and couldn't stop raving about how good it was. Said he never tasted anything like it before. My husband loved it too. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy022

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I don't know about authentic Cuban dishes but I know this is a real keeper of a recipe. I made it just as written with the exception of not having any tomatoes so I left them out. The trick I think is to cook it for the full 30 minutes to blend the flavors. Meanwhile, I seasoned a pot roast with Everglades Seasoning and browned it in oil in a pressure cooker. Then I added two cups of liquid and cooked it 20 minutes. Both were done at the same time. I used the liquid from the pressure cooker to thin the sauce a little, added the cut up meat to the sauce and served it with black beans, yellow rice and cuban bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is authentic Cuban sofrito, no tomatillos, no hot peppers, no cilantro but of course, comino (cumin)! It's similar to Puerto Rican sofrito which would add acaparra (capers) and green olives and omit the cumin. It's all delicious, love both cuisines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States