Margie's Cuban Sofrito (Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
What have I been missing?! This sauce is incredibly vibrant. It's going to be a new staple in my refrigerator. I put some sofrito in boring old chicken salad sandwiches, and WOW. I'm adding it to the beans and rice I'm going to serve to company tonight. I know already it's going to be a hit. This recipe is certainly a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Made this sauce without ever even having tasted it before, it was really very good. I used it in a Cuban Stew recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is a great sauce to add to various dishes. Made mine a few days ahead of the stew I was planning to make to give the sauce time for the flavors to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is wonderful on everything we've eaten it with so far. A strong tomato flavor. Mine never made a "green paste" as referenced in the directions while cooking, it was starting to get dark and caramel colored and still really chunky. (no one else has mentioned this?) ...anyway, I went ahead and followed the directions. I did cook mine a lot longer than the given time adding water as needed...This stuff is amazing! I used it to top steamed calrose "sticky rice" and beans. Also used some of this to top fivebrig's Carne Guisada. Delicious for dipping tortilla chips in too! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I dated a cuban man whose mother used to make a sauce like this (which was his favorite) and she would never give me the recipe. I wasn't thrilled about the vague instructions. I did get a "yummy" green paste after cooking the vegetables for quite a while. I would suggest mincing the onion, garlic, and bell pepper as finely as possible. I also I had to add water from time to time to keep the mixture from burning on my pan. If using fresh tomato, I would suggest peeling it first. Turns out 3/4 cup of tomato sauce is pretty much one of the small 8oz cans. Again "really red" is a vague description of color. I cooked the sauce until it was a rich red color with no more appearance of green. In the process of doing this, I added about 2 tbs red wine and 1/4 beef bullion broth when the sauce got too thick. I used this sauce to make a casserole using sliced red potatoes and ground pork. The family loved it. Next time, I'm putting it in the crock pot with pot roast and potatoes. Despite the hard to follow instructions, the flavors and spices of this sauce were very appealing. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was awesome - the key to tasty rice and beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is an excellent sauce for many different recipes. I make it exactly like the recipe calls for, but at the end I sometimes put it in the blender to make a smoother sauce. It's great for shredded chicken or beef. Excellent recipe! Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
A bright hit of flavor to go with grilled flank steak in Mojo Grilling Marinade and Cuban Black Beans II (both from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Thanks Margie. This recipe is delicious and tasty. My brother who has never tried cuban food tried it over some meat and black beans and couldn't stop raving about how good it was. Said he never tasted anything like it before. My husband loved it too. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy022

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Very good served over rice and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States