Margarita Party Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
No complaints or problems with this delicious pie. This pie did soften quickly but it has a healthy amount of alcohol in it - that's not the recipe's fault, alcohol doesn't freeze like most other ingredients. I followed the recipe exactly and while 2 bowls and the layering was a little putzy, it was gorgeous when I finished. I made no substitutions or changes. I whipped my own cream, used fresh limes and strawberries, and used top shelf alcohol - all were important to the quality and are key in this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
WAY too much filling--I could've made two pies! Also, the tequilla and orange liquor need to be doubled in order to really get the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BED68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My friend requested this for her birthday, and while I did not taste it myself, she could not stop raving about it. She said it was EXACTLY how a margarita pie is supposed to taste. The only changes I made were to use frozen strawberries in place of fresh (and an additional cup at that) and super-creamy Cool Whip in place of the whipped cream. Thank you for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was very good! Made a lot of crust! Had to take a little out in order to fit all the filling. I also baked the crust first at 350 for about 8-10 minutes. Let cool before filling. It was nice and crunchy! Great flavor! I also used only enough butter to moisten. 2/3 cup seemed like a lot. Everyone raved!! I also used cool whip instead of heavy cream because that is what I had. My guests said it was fantastic and very refreshing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
We did not really think it tasted like a margarita. I personally am not fond of frozen strawberries. After all the hype I was dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
SO easy to make, tastes delicious. I would definitely recommend making the pretzel crust, it is what makes this pie so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was good. My guests thought it was a bit sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFORWARDING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I made this for a going away party and everyone loved it! The first person to taste it raved about it and then it kinda snowballed-my husband was very impressed with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I made this for a party...big hit! I used frozen raspberries and some of the juice instead of strawberries. I also doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan, very easy to serve and take!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is really yummy, but it does pack a punch--be careful who you're serving it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States