Margarita Party Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I made this for a party...big hit! I used frozen raspberries and some of the juice instead of strawberries. I also doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan, very easy to serve and take!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
The filling is tasty (I added some extra Tequila and Triple Sec for more kick and flavor) but the crust is too salty. I will try it next time using a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cory P
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Pretty good. The pretzel crust is EXCELLENT. My pie didn't set up incredibly well... but it tasted good. I did not find it too alcoholic. One piece of advice: This pie has to be served frozen... no on-the-counter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I made three desserts for a Mexican themed party and this was a huge hit! If you prefer sweet and salty tastes, stick to the pretzel crust. Some of the guests agreed that a graham cracker crust would work well too but the pie would not have that interesting salty balance. Everyone thought the alcohol was just right (I used Jose Cuervo) however, I bought orange flavored triple sec not knowing that there is a difference between orange liquer and triple sec. I will definitely make this again. It is so good and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I thought this was a great recipe! I made it for a bbq this weekend, and everyone liked it, execpt for the one 16 year old that was there - they just thought it was too "alcohol-y" for them. I think the pretzel crust was surprisingly good. If I were making it where there were going to be alot of kids, I would half the tequila, or omit it all together, and use orange juice or more lime juice. But for me, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
tastes just like a margarita--so watch the alcohol content around the kids. i used a graham cracker crust instead of the pretzels, and everyone at my party thought the pie was absolutely wonderful. but remember to thaw the pie for a little bit before serving, or it's impossible to cut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea Sturch Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
This pie tasted great, but do not use frozen strawberries. There is too much liquid and when the pie defrosted it was very messy. I crushed my pretzels in a blender - very easy. Everyone did like it though. I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I made this pie for an outdoor gathering recently, it was a hit. I would cut back on the tequila a bit, I could definitely taste it. Next time I will layer sliced strawberries in the middle to give the pie a little more substance. Very fun and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
This pie is soooooo good its almost sinful!!! Had enough ingredients left from the first one, made the second in less than a week. Haven't even shared it with friends yet, bet they will be surprised when they taste this one!! I used Cool Whip and it turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I made this with the graham cracker crust, kept the liquor amounts the same and got rave reviews! People who normally don't like tequila liked this pie and didn't even taste the tequila. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frozen Margarita Pie

A refreshing dessert catered to adults taste buds.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States