Margarita Party Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cory P
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Pretty good. The pretzel crust is EXCELLENT. My pie didn't set up incredibly well... but it tasted good. I did not find it too alcoholic. One piece of advice: This pie has to be served frozen... no on-the-counter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I made three desserts for a Mexican themed party and this was a huge hit! If you prefer sweet and salty tastes, stick to the pretzel crust. Some of the guests agreed that a graham cracker crust would work well too but the pie would not have that interesting salty balance. Everyone thought the alcohol was just right (I used Jose Cuervo) however, I bought orange flavored triple sec not knowing that there is a difference between orange liquer and triple sec. I will definitely make this again. It is so good and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I didn't care for this at all. I love margaritas, but they don't belong in a cream pie! This was very sweet, heavy and just not appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M. Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
When I got it done, I tasted it and thought it was pretty strong. The flavors mellowed out by the time I served it though. I made it on a Tuesday and didn't end up serving it until Friday, and it was still delicious. I'm making it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I made this pie for an outdoor gathering recently, it was a hit. I would cut back on the tequila a bit, I could definitely taste it. Next time I will layer sliced strawberries in the middle to give the pie a little more substance. Very fun and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Some girlfriends and myself made this pie for a birthday get together...tons of fun. It is colorful, refreshing, and capable of making any get together much more fun. We later made a second batch of the filling with cool whip to dip fruits in. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I love margaritas, so I was really looking forward to this pie. It wasn't quite as good as I had hoped, though I cannot seem to figure out why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This pie is GREAT!!! I make this pie every summer holiday in my bakery. I do inform customers not to serve this dessrt to children. The crust alone is delicious! Perfect for the margarita lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I thought this was a great recipe! I made it for a bbq this weekend, and everyone liked it, execpt for the one 16 year old that was there - they just thought it was too "alcohol-y" for them. I think the pretzel crust was surprisingly good. If I were making it where there were going to be alot of kids, I would half the tequila, or omit it all together, and use orange juice or more lime juice. But for me, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This is a great recipe. Every time we got to a BBQ, my husband requests that I take this. It really is a tastey recipe. (We do make it with fresh straw berries and also did the pretzel crust as recommended.) VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frozen Margarita Pie

A refreshing dessert catered to adults taste buds.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States