Margarita Party Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
No complaints or problems with this delicious pie. This pie did soften quickly but it has a healthy amount of alcohol in it - that's not the recipe's fault, alcohol doesn't freeze like most other ingredients. I followed the recipe exactly and while 2 bowls and the layering was a little putzy, it was gorgeous when I finished. I made no substitutions or changes. I whipped my own cream, used fresh limes and strawberries, and used top shelf alcohol - all were important to the quality and are key in this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
WAY too much filling--I could've made two pies! Also, the tequilla and orange liquor need to be doubled in order to really get the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BED68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My friend requested this for her birthday, and while I did not taste it myself, she could not stop raving about it. She said it was EXACTLY how a margarita pie is supposed to taste. The only changes I made were to use frozen strawberries in place of fresh (and an additional cup at that) and super-creamy Cool Whip in place of the whipped cream. Thank you for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was very good! Made a lot of crust! Had to take a little out in order to fit all the filling. I also baked the crust first at 350 for about 8-10 minutes. Let cool before filling. It was nice and crunchy! Great flavor! I also used only enough butter to moisten. 2/3 cup seemed like a lot. Everyone raved!! I also used cool whip instead of heavy cream because that is what I had. My guests said it was fantastic and very refreshing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
We did not really think it tasted like a margarita. I personally am not fond of frozen strawberries. After all the hype I was dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
SO easy to make, tastes delicious. I would definitely recommend making the pretzel crust, it is what makes this pie so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was good. My guests thought it was a bit sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFORWARDING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I made this for a going away party and everyone loved it! The first person to taste it raved about it and then it kinda snowballed-my husband was very impressed with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I made this for a party...big hit! I used frozen raspberries and some of the juice instead of strawberries. I also doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan, very easy to serve and take!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is really yummy, but it does pack a punch--be careful who you're serving it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frozen Margarita Pie

A refreshing dessert catered to adults taste buds.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States