Margarita Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made the sauce as directed, but cooked the chicken in a skillet and added the sauce to the second half for the cooking time. We really were looking forward to this recipe. It sounded so good, but unfortunately it just didn't suit our taste. We found the sauce to be very bitter and it's just not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Delicious marinade recipe. Four stars this way, five stars mine. I took the advice of several commenters and doubled the recipe, except for the lime. (I also omitted the cornstarch and used minced garlic instead of garlic salt.) I didn't have fresh so used lime juice instead and used about four or five tbs. I started by rubbing bone-in chicken breasts(2) with vegetable oil, then liberally sprinkling each with Greek seasoning. I grilled instead of broiled and after browning on each side started basting with the marinade. After slow grilling for about 45 minutes, they were absolutely delicious! Served with white lime rice, corn, fresh avocado and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I read all the reviews about the chicken being tough and since I didn't have access to a grill at the time, I cut the chicken into strips and sautéed in the sauce. (I doubled the sauce as well and highly recommend that as well.) Instead of just tomato and avocado slices, I made fresh guacamole and put that on top. With those few changes I give it 4 stars, next time I will add some green chilies (or even some fresh chopped jalapenos if I'm feeling adventurous) into the chicken mixture and I think that would take up to a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
very good recipe, used chicken thighs and I used maple syrup instead of honey. it was a 'you can make this again' review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I thought the sauce was ok, but the hubs said it had too much honey. I didn't broil the chicken, but pounded thin and sautéed in a bit of oil so that it didn't dry out. This was super fast/easy to make, but the taste was just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
i think this dish was just not our taste. i grilled instead of broiled as many reviewers suggested, but found the lime-y flavor to be kind of unpleasant. perhaps it was too sweet for me, i'm not sure. the kids just kind of picked at it, and although i finished mine, i'm not excited that i have three leftover breasts in the fridge. i think i will keep my margaritas in a glass from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Besides using tenders instead of breasts, I don't alter this recipe at all, which is rare. Love the chicken sliced and used in tacos. I do grill the chicken instead of broil. Makes a nice "fresh" meal on a summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used the juice of 3 limes, and 2 cloves of garlic with no cornstarch! It was DELICIOUS as a marinade for chicken on the grill. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smbilleck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The sauce is delicious! I would suggest serving it over plain rice though...no need for a tortilla. I grilled the chicken then just put the sauce over at the end. Liked it with the avacado and tomato on the side. Nice enough to serve to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smalltowndiverwife
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made this recipe while on vacation in Florida. It was my first big meal ever :) I was surprised at how simple it was yet how elegant it turned out! The kitchen I was using in the rental didn't have baking sheets or broiler pans, so I used a frying pan stove top instead. I also omitted the tortillas and garnish and served it as just a main chicken entree. It worked great! I paired my meal with homemade Mexican rice, mango/black bean salsa, and beer margaritas. My boyfriend proposed to me the next day, so it must have turned out :D Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smalltowndiverwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States