Margarita Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Really really sweet and also really sour. Children may have a problem with the sourness of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe was great, and everyone LOVED it!!! The one thing I would change would be the amount of margarita cocktail needed to make this... You really don't need all that much. When I prepared it, I marinated the chicken in the mixture and pan seared it with a bit of Mrs. Dash...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
I was eager to try this recipe. It was very easy, but I won't make it again. It had a very odd flavor that neither my husband or I cared for. We didn't finish eating this dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I didn't have high expectations going into this recipe as per the other reviews, but to my suprise this was actually pretty good. Perhaps the fact that when you take the chicken out of the pan it doesn't look extremely appealing to the eye was what turned others off? Whatever the case.. I think I will make this again b/c it's quick and very easy and pretty tasty. I won't change the amount of the ingredients, because the extra makes for a good sauce for dipping. The only thing I may try different next time is to brown the chicken a little before putting in the margarita mix into the skillet, to make it more brown and to make it look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This tasted okay, but I wasn't overly impressed. The instructions said to simmer, but I think they meant to bring the sauce to a mix first, then add the chicken and cook that for a while before just simmering. It also took 20 minutes to cook on high heat instead of the 15 the recipe said on simmer. The liquid didn't boil down to a glaze either. Most of the liquid was still left in the skillet when the chicken was finished. It was okay, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I used the advice of the previous reviewers of this recipie and the chicken came out great. I browned the chicken with 1 Tbsp of olive oil, drained off the excess water, and simmered the chicken in 1/2 of the amount of margarita mix that the recipie called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I prepared this recipe with only 2 cups of the margarita mix. I also dredged the chicken breasts in flour (with some Mrs. Dash added) before browning them in 1 tablespoon olive oil. I removed the chicken from the pan while mixing the sauce, brought the sauce to a boil, then added the chicken breasts back to the pan. The flour from the dredging helped to slightly thicken the sauce. I served the sauce in custard cups on the side for dipping. It was much sweeter than I expected it to be. The husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I made some changes to this recipe based on some things other reviewers suggested. I also cut the margarita mix down to 2 cups. I still thought the sauce was a little too sweet. I think next time I may use 1 cup margarita mix and 1 cup chicken broth. I browned my chicken in a little olive oil before adding the sauce mix so it would have some color. Finally, once the chicken was cooked I removed it from the pan and boiled the sauce down. I will probably make this again. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I was a little unsure of this dish, but it came out really tasty! I followed suggestions from other reviewers and browned the chicken first and used less mix than required. I added a little cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
WAY too sweet for us. The mix was overpowering, even for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States