Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made 30 cupcakes instead of a bundt cake. I used white cake mix and 1/3 c Margarita mix (non-alcoholic) and 1/3 c water. I also used lime juice in the cake batter instead of lemon juice. When they came out I poked holes in each one and spread ~1/4 teaspoon of tequila over each one, then spread a little bit of the glaze. I added more powdered sugar to the glaze to thicken it, and added a few layers to each cupcake until it was white. They have quite a tequila/lime kick to them, so next time I might not use Margarita mix as a sub to water. All in all very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
made this cake for a Cinco de Mayo party today at work. it turned out fantastic! extremely moist, great flavor, and really easy to make. highly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I just made this last night, but I made cupcakes instead. Couldn't find orange or lemon cake mix, so I used white cake mix and lemon pudding mix, and used lime juice in place of lemon. I also used Friday's "pre-made" traditional marg mix (with tequila already included) in place of the tequila/triple sec. Finally, I subbed melted margarine for the veg oil. I got 22 big, fluffy cupcakes out of the recipe, and I baked them for only 22-24 mins. I topped with a bit of sea salt for some balance, and everyone is raving about them! Seriously, what a perfect Cinco De Mayo treat to bring in to the office!!! The icing is a little thin for what you expect on cupcakes, but it's so delicious that no one is complaining ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The first time I made this, I couldn't find the orange cake mix, so I used lemon instead, and it was amazing! I saw Orange Delight cake mix today in the store, so I am going to make it using that mix for a friends birthday. Should be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycr0ckerchels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
It was good, I just got more citrus flavor out of it than margarita. I will try glazing when it's cool next time...and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for my best friend's birthday, and she loved it! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and also made some changes of my own. I couldn't find orange cake mix, so I used yellow and a pakage of lemon pudding mix. I also substituted lime juice for the lemon juice in the cake and margarita mix for the water. I added slightly more tequila to the batter and I also poured a shot of tequila and a half a shot of triple sec over the cake after it came out of the oven. It was so dense and moist. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Loved this recipe!!! I made it for a work - Mexican potluck; so I took the advice of other reviews and used Frozen Bacardi Margarita mix. I doubled the Frosting recipe so I could have more and I added lots more of the margarita mix to it. So it definitely tasted like a Margarita. It was a hit. Didn't bring any home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was a big hit at work today... I thought it tasted more like an orange Push-Up than a margarita though. The outside got a little dark, so I think the next round I will turn the oven down to 325 and cook a bit longer- this may be due to my oven though since it is 20+ years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I brought this to a fiesta and it went so fast I didn't even have a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Incredibly delicious! Super moist. I got rave reviews and requests for the recipe! I used the orange cake mix which I believe to be unnecessary if you cannot find it--(had to actually order it online). I did take the advice of some past reviewers: I poured one shot of tequila, 2 Tbs. Grand Marnier and 2 Tbs lime juice over the cake as soon as it came out of the oven. I let that sit a bit. I inverted the cake 10 minutes later and poured the glaze over it. I made a second batch of the glaze but added more powdered sugar to thicken it up since it is a very runny glaze. Since I juiced my own limes, (which I used instead of orange juice) I mixed the lime zest with some regular sugar and made a pretty sprinkle for the top. It added a little color and actually made the cake look like a salted margarita glass! This cake recipe will always be in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelleBelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States