Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I used white cake mix, fresh squeezed OJ instead of water, and.... because I thought I had vanilla pudding mix but didn't, I used what I had - jello chocolate caramel chip. I made three batches of the glaze using only 2tbs of sugar and poured half of it into the bottom of the unremoved cake right after it came out of the oven, then the rest over the top after turning it over. It all soaked in quickly. Then another batch according to the directions over the top once it was cooler and that all soaked in too. Too late, out of time, no pretty glaze on top. Took it to a dinner party fearing the worst and everyone said it was AMAZING. Most didn't guess any alcohol at all, those that did didn't guess tequila. The chocolate combined the other flavors so that no one thing stood out, even the lime. So it didn't taste like a margarita but it was very tasty, smooth but complex if you tasted more closely, and very moist. I am almost afraid to make it with the vanilla pudding as written for fear I won't like it as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Great flavor! I got a lot of compliments on the sweetness of this cake when I brought it to a family cookout. I was a little disappointed when I couldn't taste any of the tequila though. I subbed 2/3 c. orange juice for the water for extra flavor. Next time, I'll increase the tequila from 1/4 to 1/2 cup. I added 1/2 c. chopped pecans to the batter, and it was delicious! I may cut the amount of conf. sugar in the glaze the next time I make this cake. It was a little too sweet for me. I'll definitely be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This cake was superb! I used the recipe as it is except for doubling the glaze! We decided it could use triple glaze. wonderul texture and flavor. We enjoyed the first one warm. will let the next one cool if we can take the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
this is a keeper! I did as suggested by others & used lemon cake mix & pre-made margarita in place of the water, lemon/lime juice, tequila & triple sec in both the cake & glaze. I really soaked the cake in the thin glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Modified the recipie by using a mini-bundt pan (baked at 350 for 12 minutes) then dipped the mini-cakes in the glaze. Also used lemon cake instead of orange (although I might try the orange next time -- these are very lemony), doubled the powdered sugar in the glaze and very lightly sprinkled kosher salt on the cakes while they were still wet. They're a tremendous hit in the office today. I was looking for a "finger food" dessert for a mexican-themed pool party that was a step above a cookie but not as cumbersome as a sliced cake would be. This will work brilliantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Very yummy. Like other reviews, I used lime juice instead of lemon juice, used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil, used orange juice in place of water. I used grand marnier in place of triple sec. I made cupcakes and when then came out of the oven, I poked holes in the tops and poured a little tequila on top. I had to add more powdered sugar to the glaze to thicken it up and added lime zest to that. Overall great recipes and my husband who is a margarita fan, loved them. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Nice recipe. Although I'm not sure how a margarita tastes, I would have enjoyed more lime flavor in the cake. Used a confetti cake mix for the multi-color effect and followed the changes many gave such as using all lime juice & lemon pudding. Only used 1/2 of the Grand Marnier (or Triple Sec). Added about 1/3 cup sour cream to make it heavier. Glazed it hot (poked holes in cake) right out of oven. I made sure I loosened cake so I could get it out of pan. Even so, I think the sugary glaze made it stick to the pan so next day I had to use a spatula to ease it out of pan. (I do like the idea of using a "second glaze" - maybe making a double recipe - first time right out of oven and next time after it cools.) Refrigerated it overnight in pan with glaze on it. Next day took cake out and turned it over. I made a cream cheese lime frosting with conf. sugar, juice of one lime, 1/2 pkg of cream cheese and a little cream. Spooned it over the top. Helped my sweet tooth and desire for lime flavor. Not a big fan of boxed cakes, but this came out nicely. 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Wonderful recipe but i couldnt find an orange cake mix so i used strawberry and i made the glaze thicker..wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I made this for my daughters 23rd birthday party. Everyone enjoyed it, I used margarita candles to finish it off. Very moist cake requested again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeline Klein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Hade this 2 times and it's SO good. I use premade margarita mix, tequilla's in it! The glaze it the best part!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bruther Matheny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States