Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Loved this recipe!!! I made it for a work - Mexican potluck; so I took the advice of other reviews and used Frozen Bacardi Margarita mix. I doubled the Frosting recipe so I could have more and I added lots more of the margarita mix to it. So it definitely tasted like a Margarita. It was a hit. Didn't bring any home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was a big hit at work today... I thought it tasted more like an orange Push-Up than a margarita though. The outside got a little dark, so I think the next round I will turn the oven down to 325 and cook a bit longer- this may be due to my oven though since it is 20+ years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I brought this to a fiesta and it went so fast I didn't even have a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Incredibly delicious! Super moist. I got rave reviews and requests for the recipe! I used the orange cake mix which I believe to be unnecessary if you cannot find it--(had to actually order it online). I did take the advice of some past reviewers: I poured one shot of tequila, 2 Tbs. Grand Marnier and 2 Tbs lime juice over the cake as soon as it came out of the oven. I let that sit a bit. I inverted the cake 10 minutes later and poured the glaze over it. I made a second batch of the glaze but added more powdered sugar to thicken it up since it is a very runny glaze. Since I juiced my own limes, (which I used instead of orange juice) I mixed the lime zest with some regular sugar and made a pretty sprinkle for the top. It added a little color and actually made the cake look like a salted margarita glass! This cake recipe will always be in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelleBelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This cake was a hit! I couldn't find orange cake mix at my local grocer, so I substituted yellow cake mix, orange zest, and a 1/2 tsp of orange extract. Also, I substituted Grand Marnier in place of the triple sec. Topped it with lime zest and lime slices. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great cake, also had to thicken up the frosting, which was fine as the first lot soaked in and made it more margarita like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
It was ok. It didn't really taste like margarita's and though it tasted good, I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made this in 2007 as the recipe calls for (exept I used strawberry cake mix b/c thats what I had) and it turned out plesantly good. The adults thought it was a very nice cake and the kids were wishing they were adults to try it. I made this again in 2009 and I followed some of the advices in the review poll (more of this, more of that if you know what I mean). I would recommend the recipe to be followed as is. Maybe you can change the cake mix flavoring and adjust the icing to taste- I did double amount of icing both times, one for when the cake was still warm and the last before serving. PLease give this cake a try as is first. Ah! and don't use margarita mix!!! The second time it tasted somehow odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bekkah
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This cake was GREAT!! I made it with a few changes: I used Betty Crocker Super Moist French Vanilla box cake, orange juice instead of water, and lime juice instead of lemon juice. I doubled the glaze and when I took it out of the oven, I poked holes in the bottom and put about 1/2 cup of it in and let it sit for ~10 minutes, then flipped it out on a wire rack and put the 1/3 of the remaining glaze on, waited 30 min, put 1/3 more on and waited 30 more min and put the last 1/3 on. Then, after the glaze had hardened, I squeezed lime juice on the cake and sprinkled coarse salt all over it. People really loved the sweet/salty combo, I got tons of compliments on this cake. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is the first review I've done and glad to say this cake is a keeper! It was a big hit at a Mexican theme pot luck I took it too! I did double up the glaze and added an extra shot of tequila and 1/4 of the glaze to the top of the cake while in the pan before turning it out on the rack to cool. I also used a white cake with lime juice instead of lemon. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States