Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is always a hit! My friend and always use strawberry cake mix. One time she could not find an orange mix, tried the strawberry, and we decided we like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this for a Memorial Day party and there was not a slice left. I did make a few changes though. I couldn't find orange cake...i used white cake and lemon pudding mix, and lime juice instead of lemon, for a more "margarita-y" taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This cake is tasty and easy to make. It does not, however, taste like a margarita. I haven't a clue how to make it taste that way. I used lime juice for the lemon juice, maybe I'd try adding more lime juice in place of the water, if I was inclined to make it again. I doubled the sugar in the glaze hoping to get a thick, white glaze, but it did soak into the cake and go clear on me anyway, which I did not like. So I'd add more confectioner's sugar next time, and probably omit the triple sec from the glaze so that I could keep the ratio of sour:sweet nice and even while still adding a boatload more sugar. I'd also use lemon flavored pudding next time to ramp up the cake flavoring. It's a tasty cake, but more citrus flavor is better, when you're talking margarita. P.S. I used green food coloring and the specified orange cake mix, and got a nice avocado green colored cake. Thanks for the recipe, everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made 30 cupcakes instead of a bundt cake. I used white cake mix and 1/3 c Margarita mix (non-alcoholic) and 1/3 c water. I also used lime juice in the cake batter instead of lemon juice. When they came out I poked holes in each one and spread ~1/4 teaspoon of tequila over each one, then spread a little bit of the glaze. I added more powdered sugar to the glaze to thicken it, and added a few layers to each cupcake until it was white. They have quite a tequila/lime kick to them, so next time I might not use Margarita mix as a sub to water. All in all very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
made this cake for a Cinco de Mayo party today at work. it turned out fantastic! extremely moist, great flavor, and really easy to make. highly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I just made this last night, but I made cupcakes instead. Couldn't find orange or lemon cake mix, so I used white cake mix and lemon pudding mix, and used lime juice in place of lemon. I also used Friday's "pre-made" traditional marg mix (with tequila already included) in place of the tequila/triple sec. Finally, I subbed melted margarine for the veg oil. I got 22 big, fluffy cupcakes out of the recipe, and I baked them for only 22-24 mins. I topped with a bit of sea salt for some balance, and everyone is raving about them! Seriously, what a perfect Cinco De Mayo treat to bring in to the office!!! The icing is a little thin for what you expect on cupcakes, but it's so delicious that no one is complaining ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The first time I made this, I couldn't find the orange cake mix, so I used lemon instead, and it was amazing! I saw Orange Delight cake mix today in the store, so I am going to make it using that mix for a friends birthday. Should be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycr0ckerchels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
It was good, I just got more citrus flavor out of it than margarita. I will try glazing when it's cool next time...and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for my best friend's birthday, and she loved it! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and also made some changes of my own. I couldn't find orange cake mix, so I used yellow and a pakage of lemon pudding mix. I also substituted lime juice for the lemon juice in the cake and margarita mix for the water. I added slightly more tequila to the batter and I also poured a shot of tequila and a half a shot of triple sec over the cake after it came out of the oven. It was so dense and moist. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States